Key Lime Pie VII Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 19)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
I made this yesterday from a Recipe card that came in a pot holder gift set. Anyways I was looking on allrecipes to see how it compared and the same recipe is there verbatim . It's so good and easy you have to try it!!! like some of the reviewers said I used 2 14 oz cans of sweetened condensed milk-which is about 2 1/2 cups measured out (not over 3 cups like it should be) but my pie turned out perfect. I also used 3/4 cup key-west lime juice instead of key limes. it was great!!! I baked mine for about 10-11 min and never saw the bubbles it was talking about but took it out and it set up really nicely we were able to dig into it after dinner even though I made it just before!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
This recipe is really simple. I've made it twice now, and it's come out perfectly every time. One of the top reviews says the 3 cups of sweetened condensed milk is "about" 2 cans. Well, it's closer to 2.5 cans. That cost me an extra trip to the store!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WHIRLEDPEAS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago Ridge, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
Ok, you get another HANDS DOWN 5 STARS!!! AWESOME RECIPE!!! Best key lime pie ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Jombus

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
My picky extended family loves this pie. It is pretty sweet, but I suppose its supposed to be. To decorate I made some whipped cream and poured it into a baggie and cut the tip so that I could make a design around the sliced limes that I arranged on top. A big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
Amazing pie! Better than the so-called "best" I bought in the past.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Parkland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
Great texture. Great color. Good flavor, except the 3 cups sweetened condensed milk made the pie really too sweet. I actually had to let it all go because it was just too sugary. I did like this recipe though, and next time I'll use 1 cup sweetened condensed milk and 2 cups unsweetened condensed milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Irvine, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
This pie was a real hit with my friends and family!! My son wanted me to make this for his 21st birthday. Being Australian I had never tried one before much less made one so I went to this site in search of the best recipe I could find and this one seemed a good bet! I had to change the crust as I am a coeliac. I made up the crust with 1 x175g packet of gluten free shortbread biscuits - processed to crumbs, 1 x 250g almond meal and 1 egg to bind. I pricked it with a fork and blind baked it for 8 mins. Then just made the filling and baked it as per the recipe with one small edition of a shot of good white rum because that's what my son wanted and a little extra juice and zest as we don't get Key Limes here. No one at the party had tried it before but everyone loved it and asked for a copy of the recipe. Thanks Ann - It's a WINNER!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
Absolutely delicious recipe! Divided it into mini pies with the tiny pre made graham cracker crusts and it was a hit. Will definitely make this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaryFrances Mullins

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Living In: Laguna Vista, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
This key lime pie smelled like the destin diaper rash cream. The consistency was nice, but I couldn't get past the smell. I even made homemade crust and homemade whipped cream to top it with. I was really let down. My dad was the only one who would even touch it. I did check that all of my ingredients weren't expired.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
So simple and yet so good! everyone was impressed. some said it was there favorite ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 181-190 (of 1,870) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Key Lime Pie VII

Use fresh key lime juice if you can, as it adds the biggest flavor.

Easy Key Lime Pie I

See how to make a quick-and-easy, award-winning key lime pie.

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States