Key Lime Pie VII Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2015
I searched online for quite a while before deciding on this recipe, and it was the perfect choice. I work as a cook at a regional hospital. One of my jobs is baking for the employee cafeteria. I made four of these pies this morning. I always put out a sample piece or two for my fellow kitchen workers to try. They all loved this pie! It's the perfect combination of creamy, tart and refreshing. I only had bottled Key lime juice and fresh regular limes, so that's what I used. I'm looking forward to making this again, but with fresh key limes. I'm also planning on using the same formula to make orange and lemon versions. Thanks for sharing such a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicki Zamarelli

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2015
This is a great recipe, but for me it was way too sweet. 2 cans of sweetened condensed milk must have the equivalent of 10 cups of sugar in it! I experimented with two ways to cut the sweetness out, reducing the sweetened condensed milk to 1.5 cans instead of 2. In one I substituted sour cream, and the other I substituted evaporated milk (in a 1:1 volume ratio). I preferred the flavor of the pie with the evap milk substitution. Although it made it a little looser, it was still firm enough for a slice to hold it's shape. I also included a teaspoon of finely ground coffee in the graham cracker crust (which is super easy to make; crush a package of graham crackers and mix with melted butter. Job done!) Really gives it a nice flavor to offset the citrus! Also, don't look for bubbles because you'll never see them. DO NOT try to cook this for more than 10 minutes. There's no egg to cook here. Thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by asonetuh

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2015
This is a simple recipe but super sweet! Will not make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2015
I was skeptical of this pie setting up given he 5-8 minute bake time, but it was perfect! I'm still amazed at how good it was and with such ease! I made a homemade graham cracker crust and added a touch of cinnamon to it. I highly recommend doing this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2015
Made this recipe but substituted regular limes because key limes were not available and really didn't want to squeeze 20 walnut sized limes. You do need two cans to make 3 measured cups of the condensed milk. The oz measurement on the can threw me off. Definitely add the whip cream as it makes it so pretty and softens the tart. It came out perfect, everyone at my dinner party raved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Brentwood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2015
This recipe was a hit! I made it for a potluck at work and everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2015
Perfect 5 star easy and delicious .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Aissa Field
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2015
This turned out so delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aissa Field

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2015
The filling is great! I cut down the recipe to make mini pies: 14 oz. condensed milk, 3 1/2 oz. lime juice and 1/2 T. zest baked at 6 minutes filled 6 crusts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RunsWithScissors

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2015
Alright you guys I'm sorry if this is a dumb question but can I use regular lime instead of key limes? Is there a difference? You know, the limes us Mexicans use for our tacos and stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 1,965) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Key Lime Pie VII

Use fresh key lime juice if you can, as it adds the biggest flavor.

Easy Key Lime Pie I

See how to make a quick-and-easy, award-winning key lime pie.

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States