Key Lime Pie VII Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by BGreen
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
Super easy for someone who doesn't make pies! I have made this pie 3 times in 2 weeks. The first pie I used 3/4 cups of Nellie & Joe's Famous Key West Key Lime Juice vs. squeezing limes (no time/no patience) and left out the zest. I only used 2 cans of sweetened condensed milk (14oz) based on other reviews. I thought the pie was good, but very, very tart. So I made another one to take to a cookout the next day. This time I did everything the same as above but cut back and only used 2/3 cup of the Key Lime Juice and threw in a pinch of salt. To my surprise there was a "Key Lime Pie Connoisseur" in attendance. ugh! She talked and talked about where the "BEST" Key lime pie was in Florida..blah blah... So I held my breath when she went for a slice. She later approached me and said, "That was one of the BEST Key Lime Pies I have ever had!" SCORE one for ME! I had many more compliments that day over the pie. My husband who isn't a fan of Key Lime even said, I don't know what you did different with this second pie but it was fantastic. I think using a little less of the Key Lime juice did the trick, I guess the stuff in bottle is a little more potent then what you get from fresh squeezed. Pie #3 was just for my family and YUMMY! I do like to keep it in the freezer and eat it very, very chilled w/a little whipped cream. Nellie and Joe's Key West Famous Key Lime Juice; Bakery isle or Juice isle in local grocery stores. Thank you for a great receipt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
Tried this wonderful recipe when my son & daughter-in-law visited recently. It was the perfect sweet for our cookout. Quick, easy & full of lovely lime flavor, tart but not too sour. I should note that for several years my hubby & I traveled annually to South Florida to a work related conference. Every year we tried key lime pie each evening at a different place searching for the best. Too many places try to pawn off lime cheesecake, which is good but it's not key lime pie. This makes the sort of pie we looked for. Thanks so much for sharing it!!! Deb from Missouri
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jmeluvskev
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2014
Whole family loved this -- easy and yum! I never got bubbles either, so after 10 min I gave up and took out. Was fab!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
This was my very first attempt at Key Lime Pie. It turned out GREAT! It was so easy! I used key lime juice and then added the juice 2 additional fresh limes. It was so fresh and light! I did have to cook it for 10 minutes vs the 5-8 called for in the recipe. This has turned into a family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
This was an absolutely amazing AND simple pie to make! I used homemade condensed milk, regular limes and non-fat Greek yogurt for the sour cream. That is an improvement in terms of calories and nutrition! (Because it's Greek yogurt the texture is the same as sour cream.) It's a win-win swap for a delicious pie! FYI: It WAS challenging to know when exactly it should come out of the oven however.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2014
Easy, good flavor and texture. Still works if you replace plain Greek yogurt for the sour cream and real limes or bottled lime juice. Any way I have made it it has been easy and excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2014
It was good, but, I think I like the traditional version with egg yolks. This was a bit too much like pudding for me. If you love pudding - fine, but, I am not a pudding fan, so... not quite as tart as I would prefer either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2014
I love this recipe. I made mini pies instead and cook them at 300F. The result is perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
So easy and so delicious!! I didn't have enough limes so I filled in with a little bit of lemon juice. This is so yummy! I accidentally bought a shortbread crust instead of a graham cracker crust but it worked out just fine. I put whipped cream all around the edges and in the center then sprinkled some more lime zest on top. Will certainly make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peru, Illinois, USA
Living In: Odell, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
Love this recipe. Easy to make. Mine never did have the bubbles on top but I let it stay in the oven about 15 minutes. Was perfect after it chilled. My son has asked for the recipe to make one for himself.Will be my go to recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saltillo, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 1,797) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Key Lime Pie VII

Use fresh key lime juice if you can, as it adds the biggest flavor.

Easy Key Lime Pie I

See how to make a quick-and-easy, award-winning key lime pie.

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States