Key Lime Pie VII Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 18)
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2013
This pie was amazing and extremely easy. It was light and creamy and so very delicious. I did end up baking it several minutes longer than the recipe called for, as 8-10 minutes just wasn't long enough for bubbles to form... It probably took more like 15-20 minutes for mine to finish. Will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2013
Awesome! The flavor was identical to the Key Lime Pie we had for dessert in Key West. I surprised my husband with this pie for Father's Day and he was truly amazed! Our 12 year-old daughter had never had Key Lime Pie and she loved it. Observation- To achieve a truly authentic Key West Key Lime Pie taste, I used Nellie and Joe's Key West Lime Juice and lime zest ( or lime shaving- that's what I used) is a must. I made one with lime shavings and one without- both excellent, but the one with the lime shavings had the exact Key West Key Lime Pie flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2013
My first ever attempt at making a key lime pie!!! It was a hit!!! Oh my goodness, this was delicious! My husband said, "bravo, sweetie!" It had the perfect sweetness and tartness. I juiced about 23 key limes to get 3/4 cup, and used 2 cans of sweetened condensed milk. I did not add the zest and it was great without it, in my opinion. I used the buttery crunch crust recipe off this site and lets just say I was in key lime pie heaven! Will definitely make again soon!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DAISYTAZZY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
Made it exactly as written. I gave it three stars because it is extremely sweet. Didn't go over well at picnic. I was hoping for a stronger lime Flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DIZ♥
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
WOW! I’ve never cared for Key Lime Pie until now. This recipe is tops! Perhaps the reason I liked it is because it does not contain any whipped topping in the filling. The filling is very sweet, rich, and has a heavy, flan like custard texture. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIZ♥

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
I made this with Graham Cracker Crust I (cinnamon omitted) from this site, and it turned out great. I haven't had Key Lime Pie in years, but this is exactly what I remember it tasting like. I used a pre-packed bag of key limes, so I didn't count them. I did use the garlic press trick - works great. I had let the limes sit in my fridge longer than I should have, and they were turning brown, so I only got about 1/2 tbsp of zest off them. I don't think I would use the full tbsp next time, though, anyways - I find the flavor to be exactly strong enough as it is. I also used two cans of sweetened condensed milk. Baked it for about 9 minutes. It set up very nicely, and hasn't deteriorated at all after sitting in the fridge uncovered overnight. I think for a crowd I would try making it in bars - it seems quite firm enough for that. All in all, great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
I tried this recipe and I thought it was really good for a key lime pie lover. I substituted a 1/2 cup non-fat Greek yogurt for the 1/2 cup of sour cream and it turned out really good. I would definitely make this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
I've made this pie time and again for my husband. It is definitely his favorite. It turns out well every time. We've also tried the Emeril's key lime, which is good and a little less sweet, but tricky to make and can sometimes fail for unexplained reasons. I also suggest a spoonful of bourbon whip cream to top it off. It makes the perfect compliment to cut the sweetness. Thank you for a great recipe! Easy to make and turns out perfect every time. I will say, I ususally have to bake mine for closer to 14 minutes to get the bubbles, but it has never burned or ruined the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chef Mommy
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
This recipe is simply Excellent! I baked a graham cracker crust in a 10" springform pan and used two cans of condensed milk and a little more lime as per the recipe. We just got back from a Father's Day family function and the pie was all gone in less than 10 minutes. This is for sure a keeper "NO DOUBT".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mommy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Belize City, Belize District, Belize
Photo by AmySNYC
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
Great recipe! Just use two cans of sweetened condensed milk and the zest of one lime, no need to measure. Very easy to make with bottled key lime juice. I do find that it needs to bake 10 or 12 minutes and I never seem to get the little bubbles. Have made this twice for my dad...his favorite...always comes out great! I think the sour cream is the secret ingredient that adds a great creamy tanginess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 171-180 (of 1,733) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Key Lime Pie VII

Use fresh key lime juice if you can, as it adds the biggest flavor.

Easy Key Lime Pie I

See how to make a quick-and-easy, award-winning key lime pie.

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States