Key Lime Pie VII Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
This recipe is great. I have been making it for a couple years now and will never use another Key Lime Pie recipe. After reading a lot of other comments on here, I don't understand why it's taking 20+ key limes or so for others to extract 3/4 cup worth of juice. It only takes me 6-8 key limes, cut in half and squeezed by hand, to get 3/4 cup. The key is to buy the dark green key limes and check to make sure they're somewhat soft when squeezing. It will not hinder the flavor. I also supplement the Graham Cracker crust with my own recipe using Keebler Shortbread Cookies. You will never go back after using this crust recipe. 1 (11.2 oz package) Keebler Sandies Shortbread Cookies, 4 tbsp Butter Flavored Crisco, 4 tbsp sugar. Crush the cookies into a powder using a processor, mix with the sugar and Crisco, and pack it nicely into your pie dish. Bake @ 325 degrees for about 10 minutes before adding the pie filling (then bake again according to this recipe's instructions). It tastes great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
So simple, yet so delicious. This is a highly requested pie, and it's so easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
This pie is delicious! I used about 20 key limes and almost 1 regular lime. To juice the key limes, I sliced off the top and bottoms of each lime, then used a small fork to get all the juice out. This seemed to be the easiest way, since I was able to rub the inside of the lime against the fork. Don't forget to squeeze the little end peices for an extra few drops of that lime gold. I didn't see any mention if straining the juice, but it was an easy step to a creamy pie. I did grate about 4 key limes to get the zest. I don't know if it adds that much flavor, but it definitely makes for a pretty pie. Easy, not to sweet, not to tart. It's definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
So easy and I always get compliments. I make my own graham cracker crust and it turns out amazing! Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
I had never made a key lime pie before, but it's my boyfriend's favorite, so I decided to make this recipe for his birthday. Extremely simple recipe with only five ingredients. The result was a creamy, tart, wonderful dessert! One of the best key lime pies I've ever had. I will definitely make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
Made this recipe as stated and it was simply amazing. Will definitely make this again in the spring/summer time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by may2mac

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
Never disappoints! I get asked for this pie all the time. Ten large keylimes can make enough juice for 2 pies, from my experience. I always over buy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deborah Califf

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
Edible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hastings, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
Simple, yummy and so fast to make. I will never buy a store bought key lime pie again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
My significant other is from Florida and when I asked him what kind of dessert he wanted for Thanksgiving he requested Key Lime Pie. I'd never tasted or made a key lime pie before so was extremely nervous. Read all the reviews here and chose this recipe which I followed exactly as it was written. Everyone raved about it, it was hands down the favorite pie on the dessert table and super easy to make. He said it came out perfect! I will definitely be making this pie again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angel Grace

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wasilla, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,869) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Key Lime Pie VII

Use fresh key lime juice if you can, as it adds the biggest flavor.

Easy Key Lime Pie I

See how to make a quick-and-easy, award-winning key lime pie.

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States