Key Lime Pie VII Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2014
So many compliments when I make this pie! For the crust, I use the recipe on the Honey Maid graham cracker crumb box. Add in about 1/3 cup of sweetened shredded coconut to the crumbs for a more interesting version. You may have to add in a bit more melted butter depending on the moisture in the coconut. I used 2 cans of condensed milk and increased the lime juice from 3/4c to 1c. Just used good ol' SoCal limes from the neighbor's tree for the juice. I found it helpful to add the grated lime zest by hand, just before you pour the filling into the shell; then the zest won't hang up on your beaters. When serving, add some fresh raspberries and a bit of raspberry coulis to jazz it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Jacobs
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
EASY! and everyone LOVES them. I used key lime juice in the bottle. Also make the graham cracker crust from scratch. It is also easy and so much yummier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hanners

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
This pie was really tasty. I didn't have sour cream and substituted Greek yogurt. the lime zest intensified the flavor, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
Mine refuse to se and was too sweet. What a bummer :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
Image made this pie 4 times now and the recipe is great. However, the lime juice does make a significant difference. I couldn't find key limes the first time I made it and even the regular limes were too expensive to justify it, so I just used regular lime juice (the Real Lemon brand) and it was perfect, not too tart, just the perfect amount of tartness. This last time I found actual Key West key lime juice at Publix and it was just too tart. I am sure if I only use 1/2 cup of the juice amount it would have been perfect. Just keep that in mind if you do not want it too tart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Paula T
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
READ THESE TIPS before making since squeezing the limes is the most time-consuming part! #1 Microwave 8-10 key limes 30-40 seconds before squeezing. They'll be warm to the touch, and when you cut them open they'll burst with juice, making it much easier to hand squeeze into a measuring cup. #2 Microwave 8-10 at a time but cut 5 open while warm and squeeze while warm. Then cut another 5 open and squeeze while warm. As they cool after cut, it gets harder to squeeze them. While they're warm, the juice just comes pouring out. #3 Don't worry about the seeds until after ALL juice is measured-then pour through a wire mesh strainer or tea strainer. Goes faster this way. These are my lime squeezing tips because it's the most annoying part. The rest is easy-so few ingredients and so wonderful. Tastes like restaurant quality pie. You'd think you're visiting The Florida Keys! Make your own whipped topping and make your own pie crust please. It makes it mo bettah. I also have additional photos on my blog paulajeancuisine.com
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula T

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Irving, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
Made this the first time for a crowd today. They loved it and so did I! The lime zest adds character and key limes--while a pain to juice--make a difference from past experience with other key lime pie recipes. I topped off what I could squeeze from fresh key limes with Nellie and Joe's Key Lime Juice from a bottle. It turned out great. But I had more filling than what a 9-inch pie pan needed so I quickly made another graham cracker crust and filled it too. Definitely on my keeper list!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Montgomery, Texas, USA
Living In: Buchanan, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
Definitely use the bottle lime juice and top with whipped cream! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
This was my first key lime pie. I took it to a cook out on the 4th of July, and it was a HIT! Let's just say, everyone was seriously moaning while eating it. I'm saving this as one of my go-to recipes because of how easy it is to make and because it is heavenly! I did make my own graham cracker crust (next time I think i'll even make the graham crackers from scratch) from a recipe I found on here as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
I've been this recipe several times and it's always a hit. Perfect recipe for the Summer. I used a homemade recipe for graham cracker crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 1,834) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Key Lime Pie VII

Use fresh key lime juice if you can, as it adds the biggest flavor.

Easy Key Lime Pie I

See how to make a quick-and-easy, award-winning key lime pie.

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States