Key Lime Pie VI Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2006
ohhhhhlaaalaaaah! This was to die for. I had never made a key lime pie before, found a lovely and fragrant bunch of them on sale so decided to buy and give it a whirl. This was outstanding! Stood up so nicely, was not soupy, cut into nice slices and sooo creamy. I think the flour is the key to creaminess. The only mods. I made were to add more lime zest, and used 1/2 cup of key lime juice and cut the water accordingly. I also used lime-essence water instead. The lime water is great if you can find it. I get it at CVS drugstore in the dollar aisle! It is simply bottled water with a faint essence of lime. This recipe is a keeper. I used the french pastry pie crust from this site and it all turned out so nicely. **remember to keep egg whites at room temp when making meringue and make sure that beaters and bowl are free from any oil or fat or meringue will not set up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2006
So very yummy. My 8 year old son helped make it and he loved it. He wants to make it again tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2000
Both my son (6) and daughter (11) helped make the pie, and other than a little merenge spread around the kitchen by my son while using the mixer, we had a great experience. We're not experts on Key Lime in Alaska, but you can bet we'll make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2006
I thought this was great; a very pure and clear flavour as it's not combined with the condensed milk. I will admit, however, that I made a few changes for my own preferences. I like a graham cracker crust, so I used this instead of a plain baked shell. And I don't like meringue, no matter HOW it is made, so I omitted the meringue from my pie. Over all, an easy to follow recipe with excellent results and with a low cost.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2006
Awesome! I'd never made meringue pie before, but this turned out great! The directions were very clear, so even a first-timer like me had no problem. I followed the advice of another reviewer and used lime-flavored water in place of the plain water. Everyone loved it; I'll definitely be making it again. EDIT: It's March 13 and I just tried this recipe again. I did the exact same things I did last time, but this time the meringue would not set. I don't know why.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2007
I was looking for a low carb key lime pie with the more traditional meringue element, which is why I chose this one without sweetened condensed milk. At first I tried it with splenda instead of sugar but it just didn't set up right. (It still tasted good though!) For my second attemtpt I took the lime water suggestion from another reader one step further and used 1 cup diet lemon lime soda, 1 cup water and only a 1/2 cup sugar. The mixture was a little frothy in the beginning but thickened to look exactly like my first attempt. It was so so good this way. I also baked it without the crust both times, which worked fine, but I had to extend the cooking time a bit. I did this by turning off the oven after 10 min. and letting it sit for about 15 min more in the hot oven. It held it's shape well when chilled and served with a pie server.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hagerstown, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2007
Okay, first of all, it's true that the use of water instead of condensed milk really enhances the flavour of the lime. But what I can't understand is why the recipe states to add the lime juice after the rest of the filling is cooked. In my case, the filling was nice and thick up until this point, but the lime juice diluted it so much that it was like soup when I poured it into the pie shell, foolishly hoping that a brief stint in the oven would help it set. Well, it never set, even after a night in the refrigerator. But I hate to waste, so the next day, I poured out the filling, reheated it with a little more flour until it got thick, then poured it back into the pie shell and baked it again. This time it came out beautiful and perfectly set, even without refrigeration. So I would definitely recommend this recipe - just don't do what I did and pour in the filling unless it is thick enough to form ribbons when stirred. If it is too soupy, add more flour or cook it a little longer, but don't hope for it to set up in the oven, because it won't!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lahore, Punjab, Pakistan
Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2007
Came out great, everyone loved it. Very simple and easy to understand. Just need to remember to let the mixture boil completely to activate the corn starch. I realized my mistake before it was too late and everything turned out delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2009
This recipe is excellent. I've made it many times and now also use it for lemon meringue pies (substituting the same amount of lemon juice and zest for the lime). I especially like it that no condensed milk is required, so the fruit taste really stands out--cheaper and healthier without the condensed milk, too. Also, this meringue recipe is better than the one I used to make--simpler and never fails. Two tips: Make sure the filling doesn't look thin before you add it to the pie shell. If it does look thin, cook it a little longer at a slightly higher temperature until it has a pudding-like consistency. Second, make sure you clean your beaters thoroughly before doing the meringue, and see that they're cool. I put mine in the fridge (along with the bowl and utensils) until it's time to use them. You can also make the meringue first so that you don't have to clean the beaters, etc., before you use them to do the egg yolks. (If your kitchen is warm, put the bowl of meringue in the fridge until it's time to top the pie.) Anyway, thanks very much, Jack, for this great recipe. Can't wait to try it for orange, pineapple, and other fruit-juice pies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Melbourne Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
I was very pleased with this pie! I used splenda and it worked very well for me. It took 9 of the key limes to get the juice I needed, I added the lime juice to the water at the beginning. A very tasty refreshing pie and I'll be sure to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Key Lime Pie VII

Use fresh key lime juice if you can, as it adds the biggest flavor.

Easy Key Lime Pie I

See how to make a quick-and-easy, award-winning key lime pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States