Key Lime Pie VI Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2007
Okay, first of all, it's true that the use of water instead of condensed milk really enhances the flavour of the lime. But what I can't understand is why the recipe states to add the lime juice after the rest of the filling is cooked. In my case, the filling was nice and thick up until this point, but the lime juice diluted it so much that it was like soup when I poured it into the pie shell, foolishly hoping that a brief stint in the oven would help it set. Well, it never set, even after a night in the refrigerator. But I hate to waste, so the next day, I poured out the filling, reheated it with a little more flour until it got thick, then poured it back into the pie shell and baked it again. This time it came out beautiful and perfectly set, even without refrigeration. So I would definitely recommend this recipe - just don't do what I did and pour in the filling unless it is thick enough to form ribbons when stirred. If it is too soupy, add more flour or cook it a little longer, but don't hope for it to set up in the oven, because it won't!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lahore, Punjab, Pakistan
Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2006
ohhhhhlaaalaaaah! This was to die for. I had never made a key lime pie before, found a lovely and fragrant bunch of them on sale so decided to buy and give it a whirl. This was outstanding! Stood up so nicely, was not soupy, cut into nice slices and sooo creamy. I think the flour is the key to creaminess. The only mods. I made were to add more lime zest, and used 1/2 cup of key lime juice and cut the water accordingly. I also used lime-essence water instead. The lime water is great if you can find it. I get it at CVS drugstore in the dollar aisle! It is simply bottled water with a faint essence of lime. This recipe is a keeper. I used the french pastry pie crust from this site and it all turned out so nicely. **remember to keep egg whites at room temp when making meringue and make sure that beaters and bowl are free from any oil or fat or meringue will not set up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2007
Came out great, everyone loved it. Very simple and easy to understand. Just need to remember to let the mixture boil completely to activate the corn starch. I realized my mistake before it was too late and everything turned out delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dianne
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
I made this pie for my parents, who are crazy about key lime pie. This pie came out beautiful and delicious and everyone RAVED! It has the perfect balance of sweet and tart and it’s so full of key lime flavor. I had never made anything with key limes before this pie and I was surprised with how small key limes are, so I had no idea how many I would need to get the amount of juice and zest needed for this recipe. The limes I used were cherry tomato-sized. It took about 7 limes (1/4 lb.) to get ¼ cup juice and an additional 3 limes (10 total) to get the 1 Tbsp. zest. I think the trick to getting the pie to set up after adding the juice and butter is to bring it back up to a boil. I also stirred the mixture a couple of times while it cooled in the pan a little before pouring into the crust. I used a graham cracker crust (brushed with an egg wash and prebaked at 375 for 5 minutes) and the meringue turned out lovely as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2006
I thought this was great; a very pure and clear flavour as it's not combined with the condensed milk. I will admit, however, that I made a few changes for my own preferences. I like a graham cracker crust, so I used this instead of a plain baked shell. And I don't like meringue, no matter HOW it is made, so I omitted the meringue from my pie. Over all, an easy to follow recipe with excellent results and with a low cost.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
Thank you so much for sharing this! My grandmother is from Key West and has very strict requirements in order for a pie to be considered a "real" Key Lime Pie - it must have a traditional pastry crust instead of graham cracker, it must have meringue - not whipped cream, and it should be yellow, never green! This recipe meets all the the requirements and is exactly like the ones my Gramma has always made! So excited to share this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren Morris

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Slocomb, Alabama, USA
Living In: Bonifay, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2002
While the taste was good it wasn't 'wow'. The directions were great though, and the lime layer came out perfectly and cut really well. I think both the lime and the meringue needed more sugar to give a bit of a kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2009
This recipe is excellent. I've made it many times and now also use it for lemon meringue pies (substituting the same amount of lemon juice and zest for the lime). I especially like it that no condensed milk is required, so the fruit taste really stands out--cheaper and healthier without the condensed milk, too. Also, this meringue recipe is better than the one I used to make--simpler and never fails. Two tips: Make sure the filling doesn't look thin before you add it to the pie shell. If it does look thin, cook it a little longer at a slightly higher temperature until it has a pudding-like consistency. Second, make sure you clean your beaters thoroughly before doing the meringue, and see that they're cool. I put mine in the fridge (along with the bowl and utensils) until it's time to use them. You can also make the meringue first so that you don't have to clean the beaters, etc., before you use them to do the egg yolks. (If your kitchen is warm, put the bowl of meringue in the fridge until it's time to top the pie.) Anyway, thanks very much, Jack, for this great recipe. Can't wait to try it for orange, pineapple, and other fruit-juice pies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Melbourne Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2006
I made this tonight 12/30/06. It was good, it was alittle difficult but I got the hang of it. Only thing, do not have pie on top rack when cooking meringue. I burnt mine. Put under broiler and watch. That is how Mother made it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Kay Spooner

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bella
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
I tried this recipe twice. I used a flaky tart crust both times to keep it from being too sweet. I also used bottled lime juice both times and think fresh would have been better. The first time I followed the recipe and found I needed extra corn starch to thicken after adding the lime juice. It was also SO sweet that I threw it out and made a second one. The second time I used 1.5c water and 1c lime juice, plus added a half tablespoon extra corn starch in the beginning and it was MUCH better. I also made fresh whipped cream instead of the meringue as it was still very sweet. I guess in the end I just don't like my deserts sickly sweet, even with a zing of lime. Here's a picture prior to the whipped cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Key Lime Pie VII

Use fresh key lime juice if you can, as it adds the biggest flavor.

Easy Key Lime Pie I

See how to make a quick-and-easy, award-winning key lime pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States