Key Lime Pie VI Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
oh I don't like to give bad reviews but I think I should spare someone else the disappointment we experienced. This was not good at all, please find another recipe to use. Sorry...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
This recipe is amazing!!! I added a little more lime juice because I made it for my family and they love that lime flavor. Also for the meringue I added a little more cream of tartar. Other than those little things it's great:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
Thank you so much for sharing this! My grandmother is from Key West and has very strict requirements in order for a pie to be considered a "real" Key Lime Pie - it must have a traditional pastry crust instead of graham cracker, it must have meringue - not whipped cream, and it should be yellow, never green! This recipe meets all the the requirements and is exactly like the ones my Gramma has always made! So excited to share this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren Morris

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Slocomb, Alabama, USA
Living In: Bonifay, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
This is the best recipe for making key lime pie (or lemon if you switch the juice) if you are lactose intolerant and allergic to dairy. I make this with vegan margarine and it is so good. However, I don't like the merengue, so I make it without the topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
So good! Everyone raved about this pie. Didn't want meringue, so we just added whipped cream on top! Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natkar06

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
This pie tastes like heaven. I can't have dairy, so I was searching for a key lime pie without condensed milk, and this is just what I was looking for! I used ginger wafer cookies from Trader Joes to make a crust, which paired well with the lime. I also used 1/2 c lime juice and no zest (just because I used lime juice I had frozen earlier), and it turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dianne
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
I made this pie for my parents, who are crazy about key lime pie. This pie came out beautiful and delicious and everyone RAVED! It has the perfect balance of sweet and tart and it’s so full of key lime flavor. I had never made anything with key limes before this pie and I was surprised with how small key limes are, so I had no idea how many I would need to get the amount of juice and zest needed for this recipe. The limes I used were cherry tomato-sized. It took about 7 limes (1/4 lb.) to get ¼ cup juice and an additional 3 limes (10 total) to get the 1 Tbsp. zest. I think the trick to getting the pie to set up after adding the juice and butter is to bring it back up to a boil. I also stirred the mixture a couple of times while it cooled in the pan a little before pouring into the crust. I used a graham cracker crust (brushed with an egg wash and prebaked at 375 for 5 minutes) and the meringue turned out lovely as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
Excellent pie! It's got almost no fat, yet tasted delicious and limey. Quite easy to make, as well - the instructions are accurate and easy to follow. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2010
This didn't even set up. will not make again. Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luvs2cookMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
Ugh! I've made key lime pies before using different recipes, and I have always enjoyed them. I did not think the flavor of this one was quite right. I didn't have any trouble with it setting up, but I just didn't like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KaylaMayaCamrynMOM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Key Lime Pie VII

Use fresh key lime juice if you can, as it adds the biggest flavor.

Easy Key Lime Pie I

See how to make a quick-and-easy, award-winning key lime pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States