Key Lime Pie VI Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 15, 2000
Both my son (6) and daughter (11) helped make the pie, and other than a little merenge spread around the kitchen by my son while using the mixer, we had a great experience. We're not experts on Key Lime in Alaska, but you can bet we'll make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2000
Recipe turned out okay, but definitely not a "keeper" at my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2000
This pie is very tastey and worth the extra time to make. It is a sure husband pleaser.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2002
While the taste was good it wasn't 'wow'. The directions were great though, and the lime layer came out perfectly and cut really well. I think both the lime and the meringue needed more sugar to give a bit of a kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2004
This was very yummy! I wanted to try a recipe for key lime pie but I didn't have any condensed milk and this was just what I was after. The husband gave it high marks. The only downside is that a day later the pie had begun to "bleed" sugar nectar into the pie pan. It seems to be seeping out of the meringue.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2006
ohhhhhlaaalaaaah! This was to die for. I had never made a key lime pie before, found a lovely and fragrant bunch of them on sale so decided to buy and give it a whirl. This was outstanding! Stood up so nicely, was not soupy, cut into nice slices and sooo creamy. I think the flour is the key to creaminess. The only mods. I made were to add more lime zest, and used 1/2 cup of key lime juice and cut the water accordingly. I also used lime-essence water instead. The lime water is great if you can find it. I get it at CVS drugstore in the dollar aisle! It is simply bottled water with a faint essence of lime. This recipe is a keeper. I used the french pastry pie crust from this site and it all turned out so nicely. **remember to keep egg whites at room temp when making meringue and make sure that beaters and bowl are free from any oil or fat or meringue will not set up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2006
So very yummy. My 8 year old son helped make it and he loved it. He wants to make it again tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2006
I thought that this was ok. I probably won't make this recipe again. I found that the lime tasted waaaaay too limey. The meringue was very, very thick, and didn't taste too great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Elisa Sue
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2006
needed about double lime to get a full flavor (maybe) very tastey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elisa Sue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2006
I thought this was great; a very pure and clear flavour as it's not combined with the condensed milk. I will admit, however, that I made a few changes for my own preferences. I like a graham cracker crust, so I used this instead of a plain baked shell. And I don't like meringue, no matter HOW it is made, so I omitted the meringue from my pie. Over all, an easy to follow recipe with excellent results and with a low cost.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Key Lime Pie VII

Use fresh key lime juice if you can, as it adds the biggest flavor.

Easy Key Lime Pie I

See how to make a quick-and-easy, award-winning key lime pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States