Key Lime Pie VI Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2007
I was looking for a low carb key lime pie with the more traditional meringue element, which is why I chose this one without sweetened condensed milk. At first I tried it with splenda instead of sugar but it just didn't set up right. (It still tasted good though!) For my second attemtpt I took the lime water suggestion from another reader one step further and used 1 cup diet lemon lime soda, 1 cup water and only a 1/2 cup sugar. The mixture was a little frothy in the beginning but thickened to look exactly like my first attempt. It was so so good this way. I also baked it without the crust both times, which worked fine, but I had to extend the cooking time a bit. I did this by turning off the oven after 10 min. and letting it sit for about 15 min more in the hot oven. It held it's shape well when chilled and served with a pie server.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hagerstown, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2007
I've been trying many recipies for the perfect Key Lime Pie and I've got to say, this one is pretty good and quite easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Urbandale, Iowa, USA
Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2007
I have no idea what I did wrong with this pie (or should I say soup). I made it for my boyfriend cause it's his favorite dessert. The meringue came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2006
I made this tonight 12/30/06. It was good, it was alittle difficult but I got the hang of it. Only thing, do not have pie on top rack when cooking meringue. I burnt mine. Put under broiler and watch. That is how Mother made it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2006
Awesome! I'd never made meringue pie before, but this turned out great! The directions were very clear, so even a first-timer like me had no problem. I followed the advice of another reviewer and used lime-flavored water in place of the plain water. Everyone loved it; I'll definitely be making it again. EDIT: It's March 13 and I just tried this recipe again. I did the exact same things I did last time, but this time the meringue would not set. I don't know why.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2006
I thought this was great; a very pure and clear flavour as it's not combined with the condensed milk. I will admit, however, that I made a few changes for my own preferences. I like a graham cracker crust, so I used this instead of a plain baked shell. And I don't like meringue, no matter HOW it is made, so I omitted the meringue from my pie. Over all, an easy to follow recipe with excellent results and with a low cost.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Elisa Sue
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2006
needed about double lime to get a full flavor (maybe) very tastey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elisa Sue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2006
I thought that this was ok. I probably won't make this recipe again. I found that the lime tasted waaaaay too limey. The meringue was very, very thick, and didn't taste too great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2006
So very yummy. My 8 year old son helped make it and he loved it. He wants to make it again tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2006
ohhhhhlaaalaaaah! This was to die for. I had never made a key lime pie before, found a lovely and fragrant bunch of them on sale so decided to buy and give it a whirl. This was outstanding! Stood up so nicely, was not soupy, cut into nice slices and sooo creamy. I think the flour is the key to creaminess. The only mods. I made were to add more lime zest, and used 1/2 cup of key lime juice and cut the water accordingly. I also used lime-essence water instead. The lime water is great if you can find it. I get it at CVS drugstore in the dollar aisle! It is simply bottled water with a faint essence of lime. This recipe is a keeper. I used the french pastry pie crust from this site and it all turned out so nicely. **remember to keep egg whites at room temp when making meringue and make sure that beaters and bowl are free from any oil or fat or meringue will not set up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Key Lime Pie VII

Use fresh key lime juice if you can, as it adds the biggest flavor.

Easy Key Lime Pie I

See how to make a quick-and-easy, award-winning key lime pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States