Key Lime Pie VI Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2010
This didn't even set up. will not make again. Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luvs2cookMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
Ugh! I've made key lime pies before using different recipes, and I have always enjoyed them. I did not think the flavor of this one was quite right. I didn't have any trouble with it setting up, but I just didn't like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KaylaMayaCamrynMOM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2009
My husband's 1st words were, "MMM, not too sweet, just right." I concur. I made by the recipe, using a graham cracker crust. I didn't have key limes, & used regular. My lemon meringue recipe calls for adding the lemon juice after removing from heat, too, I'm not sure why, but it works fine for me. Just be patient and let the mixture thicken well before removing from heat. It was going to be awhile (maybe 2 hrs?) before I made the meringue, so I put the whites in the refrigerator, letting the other cool in saucepan, just stirring occasionally. When I made the meringue, I didn't wait for the whites to return to room temp. and it came out marvelous. Will try that again. Thanks for the excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
This pie was awesome!!It had a very nice balance of flavors. I made the recipe exactly as it is written.I will make this refreshing pie again and again.I think there are mixed reviews do the pie not setting up properly. The recipe should state that the mixture must come to a boil for 2 minutes as with all pudding pies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATE571

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bangor, Maine, USA
Living In: Walton, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2009
My friend is from Florida & he says that this recipe is just like what they make "down home". I leave the meringue off so it doesn't interfere with the lime taste. Awesome taste! Very tart & everyone loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2009
i haven't made key lime pie in quite some time, i misplaced my old recipe & this is it! yay, this puts those heavy, creamy things to shame!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2009
Awesome recipe! Even my mother appropved! I had some limes that I wanted to use so I gave it a try. Key limes would make it even better. Just make sure to cook the filling until very thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2009
Fantastic pie!! :-D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winter Park, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2009
I didn't have any condensed milk but was craving Key Lime Pie and this recipe tastes just as good. Reading the other reviews, I was worried about the thickening of the mixture but it turned out just fine; I kept all measurements the same as given except for the key lime (added a little more than 1/4). I'm not a big fan of meringue so I skipped that altogether. It came out looking great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
I was very pleased with this pie! I used splenda and it worked very well for me. It took 9 of the key limes to get the juice I needed, I added the lime juice to the water at the beginning. A very tasty refreshing pie and I'll be sure to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Key Lime Pie VII

Use fresh key lime juice if you can, as it adds the biggest flavor.

Easy Key Lime Pie I

See how to make a quick-and-easy, award-winning key lime pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States