Key Lime Pie VI Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2009
My friend is from Florida & he says that this recipe is just like what they make "down home". I leave the meringue off so it doesn't interfere with the lime taste. Awesome taste! Very tart & everyone loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2009
i haven't made key lime pie in quite some time, i misplaced my old recipe & this is it! yay, this puts those heavy, creamy things to shame!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2009
Awesome recipe! Even my mother appropved! I had some limes that I wanted to use so I gave it a try. Key limes would make it even better. Just make sure to cook the filling until very thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2009
Fantastic pie!! :-D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winter Park, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2009
I didn't have any condensed milk but was craving Key Lime Pie and this recipe tastes just as good. Reading the other reviews, I was worried about the thickening of the mixture but it turned out just fine; I kept all measurements the same as given except for the key lime (added a little more than 1/4). I'm not a big fan of meringue so I skipped that altogether. It came out looking great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
I was very pleased with this pie! I used splenda and it worked very well for me. It took 9 of the key limes to get the juice I needed, I added the lime juice to the water at the beginning. A very tasty refreshing pie and I'll be sure to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2009
This recipe is excellent. I've made it many times and now also use it for lemon meringue pies (substituting the same amount of lemon juice and zest for the lime). I especially like it that no condensed milk is required, so the fruit taste really stands out--cheaper and healthier without the condensed milk, too. Also, this meringue recipe is better than the one I used to make--simpler and never fails. Two tips: Make sure the filling doesn't look thin before you add it to the pie shell. If it does look thin, cook it a little longer at a slightly higher temperature until it has a pudding-like consistency. Second, make sure you clean your beaters thoroughly before doing the meringue, and see that they're cool. I put mine in the fridge (along with the bowl and utensils) until it's time to use them. You can also make the meringue first so that you don't have to clean the beaters, etc., before you use them to do the egg yolks. (If your kitchen is warm, put the bowl of meringue in the fridge until it's time to top the pie.) Anyway, thanks very much, Jack, for this great recipe. Can't wait to try it for orange, pineapple, and other fruit-juice pies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Melbourne Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
I loved the taste of it - def more limey than the recipes using condensed milk but had a problem with the filling not setting. I increased the amount of flour and cornstarch but prob needed to add even more and reduce the amount of water. Will try again another time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2007
Came out great, everyone loved it. Very simple and easy to understand. Just need to remember to let the mixture boil completely to activate the corn starch. I realized my mistake before it was too late and everything turned out delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2007
Okay, first of all, it's true that the use of water instead of condensed milk really enhances the flavour of the lime. But what I can't understand is why the recipe states to add the lime juice after the rest of the filling is cooked. In my case, the filling was nice and thick up until this point, but the lime juice diluted it so much that it was like soup when I poured it into the pie shell, foolishly hoping that a brief stint in the oven would help it set. Well, it never set, even after a night in the refrigerator. But I hate to waste, so the next day, I poured out the filling, reheated it with a little more flour until it got thick, then poured it back into the pie shell and baked it again. This time it came out beautiful and perfectly set, even without refrigeration. So I would definitely recommend this recipe - just don't do what I did and pour in the filling unless it is thick enough to form ribbons when stirred. If it is too soupy, add more flour or cook it a little longer, but don't hope for it to set up in the oven, because it won't!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lahore, Punjab, Pakistan
Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Key Lime Pie VII

Use fresh key lime juice if you can, as it adds the biggest flavor.

Easy Key Lime Pie I

See how to make a quick-and-easy, award-winning key lime pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States