Key Lime Pie V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2009
I did as one other person did...3 egg yolks and increased lime(not key)juice to about 1/2 cup just about. i also used a reg. pastry crust. and topped with meringue snd baked for 10 minutes or so till browned before cooling and chilling. It wasn't the firmest pie, but it sliced just fine and it was delish. Everone loved it! Thanks for a great recipe base
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charlotte

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2000
I have not tried this particular recipe but have noticed that many recipes for key lime pie are not baked. How can this be when there are raw eggs in the recipe? I used a recipe on the back of a bottle of lime juice. It also said refrigerate..no baking necessary or bake for 15 minutes at 350. I baked it and it was great. Also used a graham cracker crust and fat free eagle brand condensed milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2001
This is a response to a comment below: the eggs in a key lime pie recipe don't have to be heated because they are chemically cooked by the acids in the lime juice. It's like when something is smoked.. it's not raw, just not cooked with heat. I assure you, you're not eating raw eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
99 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAUREN003

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jamestown, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2007
My father was adamant that TRUE key lime pie had three very distinct qualities, it was made with KEY lime juice, and not just lime juice, it was NOT green colored (sign of food coloring or geletin), and it wasn't smothered in whipped cream. This recipe is exactly how I remember this pie from his kitchen and from our trips to the keys. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Wayne, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
I used 3 egg yolks and 1/3 cup key lime juice. Set up very well after a couple hours in the fridge. I made a meringue with the whites, beaten til stiff peaks then beat in about 1/2 tsp lime zest and 1/2 cup sugar. Spread the meringue on the filling taking care to stick the meringue to the crust all the way around [or it will shrink back from the crust where it wasn't touching], sprinkled a little more zest on top and baked it in a preheated 275 degree oven for about 20 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bill Jezzard

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Plantersville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2009
This recipe is great and authentic. Steve's key lime pie of New York does not ship their pies because of the difficulty of doing so. They instead recommend a 5 ingredient recipe (they don't give one) which this is. The two ingredients for the shell and the three for the filling. The recipe does need to be followed and the ingredients need to be fresh - no bottled or frozen juice. Any lime other than Key lime will give it a different flavor and not congeal the eggs and milk properly. Also, it does need to be kept refrigerated in order to keep it reasonable solid. Real key lime pie will not be solid if left at room temperature for more than an hour. And yes, the eggs are cooked by the citric acid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2010
This is the origional recipe for Key Lime Pie that Ziggie's Conch in the FL. keys served in the 70's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
This was so delicious. We followed the recipe, omitting the egg yolks (only because of time constraints). It was light and refreshing, perfect for a hot summer evening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
This is AUTHENTIC, tart and custardy, non fluffy, non gelatinous, non whipped cream slathered, non chiffon KEY LIME pie. For this to turn out in all it's KEY LIME tartiness, you absolutely must use Key lime juice...the two yolks is fine...an even better version I try is with a gingersnap crust made thusly: crush 32 crisp Gingersnap cookies in a plastic bag, add 1/4 granulated sugar and toss; pour in 1/3 cup melted butter and toss again so all crumbs are coated and turn out into a pie pan, pressing the crumbs up the sides and then flattening out the bottom. Proceed as normal with the KEY LIME juice/sweetened condensed milk/2 egg yolk mixture and bake at 350 for 15 minutes... The Gingersnap crust is to die for, paired with the tartness of the lime. Now my family requests this dessert everytime they are in town.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brookfield, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Palm Harbor, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
This is the same recipe as I use every time. It is so nice to only have 3 ingrediants. It is always a big hit! :0) Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Related Videos

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Key Lime Pie VII

Use fresh key lime juice if you can, as it adds the biggest flavor.

Easy Key Lime Pie I

See how to make a quick-and-easy, award-winning key lime pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States