Key Lime Pie IX Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2010
We did not like this recipe at all. I left it in the fridge to set for more than 2 hours, like others had suggested, and it still came out runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mindi Barth Maline

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Knowrie
Reviewed: May 21, 2010
For my first time making key lime pie, this recipe worked great! I doubled the recipe because I used 2 frozen pie crusts vs. the graham cracker crust. I blind baked each crust for 12 minutes and sprinkled them with cinnamon sugar mixture while they were cooling which really made a difference. One hour was not long enough to set the filling. Next time, I'll let it set in the fridge for at least 2 hours before adding the meringue and baking. I was afraid my meringue would burn so I baked uncovered for 5 min., tented with a foil dome for 20 min. and finished uncovered for 6 minutes. I allowed it to cool on the counter for 30min. then placed in fridge overnight. I took the pie to work the next day and my coworkers and I really enjoyed it! The filling had great flavor, not too tart, not too sweet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
Very good! I cant compare it because this was the first time making and tasting Keylime pie. I did take other reviewers advice and only use 1/3 lime juice and left in the fridge for over 3hrs before putting it in the oven and waited till the next day before cutting it and it help very well. Thanks, will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cuteacher22
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2010
excellent!! first key lime pie i've ever made and was very much impressed, as well as my boyfriend and friends! no change to the recipe, it's perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
I followed the recipe as directed, except I made a meringue with three vs. two egg whites for a fluffier topping. I refrigerated the pie for 90 minutes before baking, then let stand overnight before cutting, and had no issues with it being runny. There was a little bit of juice at the bottom when I cut into each piece of the pie, but it's a homemade pie, and it didn't detract at all; I think it's probably supposed to be like that. The combination of 1/2 c. lime juice and sweetened milk was perfect. This pie was so easy, and even with just a prepared graham cracker crust, it was truly delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
This was delicious! I read the other reviews and found that many stated the pie did not set enough. So when I made it I added 1/2 an envelope of vanilla instant pudding (small box) to the mix and it came out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
I was a little nervous about trying this recipe because some people were having problems getting it to set. I made the filling and then let it set in the fridge for about two hours before doing the meringue. The only things I changed in the recipe was doubling the amount of lime zest and doing 4 egg whites instead of two for the meringue. Turned out really well. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
Very good and easy to make. I made this my request of my young nephew who was coming over for Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
This was my first key lime pie and it was absolutely amazing. The graham cracker crust was so easy. I did as the other reviewers suggested and let the lime filling set for 24 hours in the fridge- WOW was it worth it. Astounding flavour for almost no work at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2009
FANTASTIC! My husband loved The Blonde Giraffe's key lime pie in Key West so I wanted to surprise him with a homemade one. I followed the recipe exactly and it was divine! I made a homemade graham cracker crust because I think they are better. I also doubled the meringue topping because I LOVE MERINGUE. Make this pie...you don't be disappointed! It tasted just like the real thing in Key West. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by anna

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hamler, Ohio, USA
Living In: Milford, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Key Lime Pie VII

Use fresh key lime juice if you can, as it adds the biggest flavor.

Easy Key Lime Pie I

See how to make a quick-and-easy, award-winning key lime pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States