Key Lime Pie IX Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
never made key lime pie before - I followed the review that said to use only 1/3 cup of lime juice - it was delicious- everyone enjoyed it :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
Excellant flavor and consistency. Not too tart and not too sweet. I made a 9" pie without the meringue. I used 3 egg yolks instead of 2 yolks and a whole egg. I may double the filling next time to get a thicker higher pie since I do not make the meringue. Hubby loved it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda (LMT)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
First, this is KEY LIME pie. KEY LIMES are critical to making it authentic (not regular limes, lemons, or calamansi). This recipe works perfectly for anyone with moderate baking skills. Just be sure to blend the ingredients sufficiently and it should work like a charm. I do use an extra egg white or two (depending on size) plus 1/2 tsp of cream of tartar for a higher, stiffer meringue, but that is just my preference. For those who have had trouble with setting, try cooking the pie for 15 minutes prior to adding meringue OR add 1/2 to 1 tsp of corn starch to the mixture. I'd also only recommend a homemade graham cracker crust or thin, flaky pastry shell (pre-baked 20 minutes with foil around edges). It seems worth the effort for the authentic, homemade taste. I've had nothing but compliments and requests for the recipe whenever anyone has tasted it. If anyone doesn't like the tartness or sweetness, this pie may just not be for you. It IS the real deal and should not be altered.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
Here are my changes: 1/3c fresh squeezed key lime juice 1 tbsp cornstarch bake 325 for 25 minutes After doing this, the pie comes our perfect. My family goes crazy for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Kapolei, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
I made the pie exactly according to the recipe. Lime filling was completely runny and bitter. There was so much liquid that the crust dissolved completely. What a bummer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
This gets a 5 for flavor, but a 2 for presentation. It is very difficult to get a "piece" of pie out since the filling doesn't really set. It just becomes a soupy mess. I followed the directions to the letter - using the exact ingredients, chilling, and baking for the time called. The filling seemed very set when I put the meringue on, so I think that the baking is what affects the consistency when serving. I do like the idea of the meringue on top. I may try to do this again with lime juice, but follow a lemon meringue pie recipe, or do my regular lime pie recipe, and top that with a meringue. We did end up eating this - my husband says it doesn't matter what it looks like, only what it tastes like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2010
It really is restaurant quality! I've been wanting a real key lime pie for ages and this was perfect! Juicing the individual limes was a pain, next time I'll just buy the bottle of key lime juice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chocolate Moose

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
Loved this recipe and will make it again. I added lime zest in the crust to give it a bit more punch and a tad more zest to the pie itself. I put it in the prebaked crust and baked it for 25 minutes instead of putting it in the refrigerator for a hour. It's consistency was like that of a semi-firm cheese cake but held its shape very easily. Very good tasting pie! The 9 year old even wanted a second piece even after having eaten a huge lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2010
We did not like this recipe at all. I left it in the fridge to set for more than 2 hours, like others had suggested, and it still came out runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mindi Barth Maline

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Knowrie
Reviewed: May 21, 2010
For my first time making key lime pie, this recipe worked great! I doubled the recipe because I used 2 frozen pie crusts vs. the graham cracker crust. I blind baked each crust for 12 minutes and sprinkled them with cinnamon sugar mixture while they were cooling which really made a difference. One hour was not long enough to set the filling. Next time, I'll let it set in the fridge for at least 2 hours before adding the meringue and baking. I was afraid my meringue would burn so I baked uncovered for 5 min., tented with a foil dome for 20 min. and finished uncovered for 6 minutes. I allowed it to cool on the counter for 30min. then placed in fridge overnight. I took the pie to work the next day and my coworkers and I really enjoyed it! The filling had great flavor, not too tart, not too sweet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Key Lime Pie VII

Use fresh key lime juice if you can, as it adds the biggest flavor.

Easy Key Lime Pie I

See how to make a quick-and-easy, award-winning key lime pie.

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States