Key Lime Pie IX Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
This pie is delicious. I'm in agreement with the other reviewers who recommend slightly reducing the amount of lime juice to firm up the filling and reduce the amount of juice that leaks out when you slice the pie. I also recommend chilling the pie overnight--the flavors were better the second day. One more change, suggested by another reviewer--I used the Meringue II recipe on this website for the meringue portion of the recipe-probably the most fool-proof meringue recipe out there!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
Wow...really simple to make and so delicious! The sweet and sour flavors are well balanced and the light merengue on top is the best!! I made mine with a homemade, flaky crust since I didn't have graham crackers and it's still delicious. Will be making again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mgsilvis

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
I followed the recipe very closely and it tasted good, but the meringue broke up a little bit and there was still liquid comming out of the filling when I cut it after chilled overnight. I am affraid even the 20 minutes I baked it is a short time. Maybe I can do it better next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lawrenceville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
never made key lime pie before - I followed the review that said to use only 1/3 cup of lime juice - it was delicious- everyone enjoyed it :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
Excellant flavor and consistency. Not too tart and not too sweet. I made a 9" pie without the meringue. I used 3 egg yolks instead of 2 yolks and a whole egg. I may double the filling next time to get a thicker higher pie since I do not make the meringue. Hubby loved it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda (LMT)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
First, this is KEY LIME pie. KEY LIMES are critical to making it authentic (not regular limes, lemons, or calamansi). This recipe works perfectly for anyone with moderate baking skills. Just be sure to blend the ingredients sufficiently and it should work like a charm. I do use an extra egg white or two (depending on size) plus 1/2 tsp of cream of tartar for a higher, stiffer meringue, but that is just my preference. For those who have had trouble with setting, try cooking the pie for 15 minutes prior to adding meringue OR add 1/2 to 1 tsp of corn starch to the mixture. I'd also only recommend a homemade graham cracker crust or thin, flaky pastry shell (pre-baked 20 minutes with foil around edges). It seems worth the effort for the authentic, homemade taste. I've had nothing but compliments and requests for the recipe whenever anyone has tasted it. If anyone doesn't like the tartness or sweetness, this pie may just not be for you. It IS the real deal and should not be altered.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
Here are my changes: 1/3c fresh squeezed key lime juice 1 tbsp cornstarch bake 325 for 25 minutes After doing this, the pie comes our perfect. My family goes crazy for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Kapolei, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
I made the pie exactly according to the recipe. Lime filling was completely runny and bitter. There was so much liquid that the crust dissolved completely. What a bummer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
This gets a 5 for flavor, but a 2 for presentation. It is very difficult to get a "piece" of pie out since the filling doesn't really set. It just becomes a soupy mess. I followed the directions to the letter - using the exact ingredients, chilling, and baking for the time called. The filling seemed very set when I put the meringue on, so I think that the baking is what affects the consistency when serving. I do like the idea of the meringue on top. I may try to do this again with lime juice, but follow a lemon meringue pie recipe, or do my regular lime pie recipe, and top that with a meringue. We did end up eating this - my husband says it doesn't matter what it looks like, only what it tastes like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2010
It really is restaurant quality! I've been wanting a real key lime pie for ages and this was perfect! Juicing the individual limes was a pain, next time I'll just buy the bottle of key lime juice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chocolate Moose

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Key Lime Pie VII

Use fresh key lime juice if you can, as it adds the biggest flavor.

Easy Key Lime Pie I

See how to make a quick-and-easy, award-winning key lime pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States