Key Lime Pie IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
My pie filling never thickened. I had to improvise and add a cream cheese lime zest frosting I made recently hoping to thicken it up, didn't work. So then I added a whole block of cream cheese and it helped a little. It tastes delicious but I'm not happy with the liquid consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2013
I tried this recipe but made some changes to make it more of a cheese cake type of pie. I had real key limes so I used the juice from them 1/2 cup (you could use lime juice) which I mixed with the condensed milk. I added an 8oz block of cream cheese to the mixture and mixed with my mixer until smooth. I folded in 8oz of cool whip,which I added to the graham cracker crust recipe that was cooked and cooled in a spring pan. I saved a couple to tbsp of cool whip and sliced key limes to decorate the pie. Placed in fridge over night (but could be served after an hour). Did not have any food colouring, next time I will try a bit to change the colour. Was very tasty and was sweet enough, my family loved it. This recipe is a definite keeper with the changes I made. Madeleine
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Kanata, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
I don't typically "love" key lime but made this for a dinner party and WOW! It's a keeper! Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
It was ok, but not great. I followed the recipe exactly, the filling didn't set even after 10 hours in the fridge. It was very sweet and not much of a lime flavour. Living in Spain I am unable to get Key limes, perhaps this would have made a difference. The condensed milk does overpower the flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
Sadly, this is probably the best recipe AllRecipes has to offer. It is close to the traditional recipe in most ways (uncooked filling, standard crust), but to be a Key Lime Pie it has to be made with Key Lime juice. Key limes are much different than the standard Persian limes, with an entirely different flavor. No lemon juice, standard is about 1/2 cup Key Lime juice (about 3/4 lb. fruit). Under no circumstances should green food coloring be used; the filling should be yellow. Whipped cream is pretty common now, but meringue was used first- the pie was developed at a time when there was practically no refrigeration in the area (south Florida).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
This was really good. I made a shortbread crust, and used all freshly squeezed lime juice... will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
Very light and fluffy, but also rich! Not overly sweet, which is awesome, because a lot of recipes use WAY too much sugar! Very yummy, I'll be making this again! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
Didn't love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Daytona Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Antigua, Sacatepéquez, Guatemala

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2011
LOVE LOVE LOVE! Simple ingredients, easy directions and delicious results are my favorite kind of recipes! I used all fresh key lime juice, no lemon juice and it came out light, fluffy, sweet and tart. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
My experience making this recipe turned into an adventure. I thought that I had a reasonable expectation that I would be able to get 8 tablespoons of juice out of 30 key limes. I prefer Persian limes, believe me. Key limes are a headache. After 40 minutes of cutting, seeding and prodding all the juice I could out of the critters, I only had 4 tablespoons of juice. I had no other source of juice in the house, and time wouldn't permit a trip to the store. So! I decided that I would use some lemon drink powder and water to make up the difference. Well, of course, the water foiled the effect of the condensed milk and juice combination, yielding a watery filling. I decided to add 4 egg yolks, and baked it for about 40 minutes at 350. The pie was just great! Since it was for company, it was a breath holding experience, but turned out nicely. Don't know that I would recommend doing this exactly, but just thought I'd share.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Garrett

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Key Lime Pie VII

Use fresh key lime juice if you can, as it adds the biggest flavor.

Easy Key Lime Pie I

See how to make a quick-and-easy, award-winning key lime pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States