Key Lime Pie IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LochNessSquid

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
My pie filling never thickened. I had to improvise and add a cream cheese lime zest frosting I made recently hoping to thicken it up, didn't work. So then I added a whole block of cream cheese and it helped a little. It tastes delicious but I'm not happy with the liquid consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2013
I tried this recipe but made some changes to make it more of a cheese cake type of pie. I had real key limes so I used the juice from them 1/2 cup (you could use lime juice) which I mixed with the condensed milk. I added an 8oz block of cream cheese to the mixture and mixed with my mixer until smooth. I folded in 8oz of cool whip,which I added to the graham cracker crust recipe that was cooked and cooled in a spring pan. I saved a couple to tbsp of cool whip and sliced key limes to decorate the pie. Placed in fridge over night (but could be served after an hour). Did not have any food colouring, next time I will try a bit to change the colour. Was very tasty and was sweet enough, my family loved it. This recipe is a definite keeper with the changes I made. Madeleine
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Kanata, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
I don't typically "love" key lime but made this for a dinner party and WOW! It's a keeper! Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
It was ok, but not great. I followed the recipe exactly, the filling didn't set even after 10 hours in the fridge. It was very sweet and not much of a lime flavour. Living in Spain I am unable to get Key limes, perhaps this would have made a difference. The condensed milk does overpower the flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda Orchard

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
Sadly, this is probably the best recipe AllRecipes has to offer. It is close to the traditional recipe in most ways (uncooked filling, standard crust), but to be a Key Lime Pie it has to be made with Key Lime juice. Key limes are much different than the standard Persian limes, with an entirely different flavor. No lemon juice, standard is about 1/2 cup Key Lime juice (about 3/4 lb. fruit). Under no circumstances should green food coloring be used; the filling should be yellow. Whipped cream is pretty common now, but meringue was used first- the pie was developed at a time when there was practically no refrigeration in the area (south Florida).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
This was really good. I made a shortbread crust, and used all freshly squeezed lime juice... will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
Very light and fluffy, but also rich! Not overly sweet, which is awesome, because a lot of recipes use WAY too much sugar! Very yummy, I'll be making this again! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
Didn't love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Daytona Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Antigua, Sacatepéquez, Guatemala

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2011
LOVE LOVE LOVE! Simple ingredients, easy directions and delicious results are my favorite kind of recipes! I used all fresh key lime juice, no lemon juice and it came out light, fluffy, sweet and tart. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Key Lime Pie VII

Use fresh key lime juice if you can, as it adds the biggest flavor.

Easy Key Lime Pie I

See how to make a quick-and-easy, award-winning key lime pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States