Key Lime Pie IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2008
This was very good. I used all key lime juice instead of half lime & lemon juices. I also left out the green food coloring. Real key lime pie doesn't have a green color. I also used some fresh lime zest for a little extra kick. It was a very quick & easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAMABEAC

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Creek, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2003
EXQUISITE! My husband is peculiar about his key lime pie and this one got a thumbs up from him. It's ridiculously simple and tastes divine. I wasn't even a fan of key lime pie till I tasted this version. Fabulous recipe...THANKS. (I used a shortbread crust...tasted perfect.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRSKNIGHT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Altavista, Virginia, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2000
This pie was great... the second day. It needs some time for the tastes to mingle. When I served it originally, it tasted pretty much like eating straight sweetened condensed milk. Save some whipped cream as topping - you won't regret it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2007
Unfortunately my husband and I were not impressed with this pie. Overall the sweetened condensed milk over powered the taste of the pie. It was definitely easy to prepare and a kid friendly recipe to get them involved in. Our 5 yr old son loved it but I think it was because he was able to prepare most of the pie and was impressed with how the food coloring turned the mixture green. Next time I will definitely opt for a key lime pie recipe that is baked to help break down the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sturgeon Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
My experience making this recipe turned into an adventure. I thought that I had a reasonable expectation that I would be able to get 8 tablespoons of juice out of 30 key limes. I prefer Persian limes, believe me. Key limes are a headache. After 40 minutes of cutting, seeding and prodding all the juice I could out of the critters, I only had 4 tablespoons of juice. I had no other source of juice in the house, and time wouldn't permit a trip to the store. So! I decided that I would use some lemon drink powder and water to make up the difference. Well, of course, the water foiled the effect of the condensed milk and juice combination, yielding a watery filling. I decided to add 4 egg yolks, and baked it for about 40 minutes at 350. The pie was just great! Since it was for company, it was a breath holding experience, but turned out nicely. Don't know that I would recommend doing this exactly, but just thought I'd share.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Garrett

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommymeggy
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2008
3 & and 1/2 stars. After reading reviews I doubled the key lime juice & was glad I did. It's good but SO SWEET. It firms up to a nice creamy, sturdy consistency though, especially if you pop in the freezer for a few minutes BEFORE the fridge. Not quite as good as Key Lime Pie VII but better than Key Lime Pie I.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommymeggy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nora
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2010
I made this pie for Father's Day, and everybody who had some loved it, the only thing I changed, was that I used all lime juice instead of half lemon and half lime and made my own crust, using one package of graham crackers, 1/3 cup melted butter and 1/4 cup sugar possessed and then packed down into to pie pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nora

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2003
This recipe has the distinct disadvantage of following the most amazing key lime restaurant pie I've ever had (Charleston's) a few weeks ago. The filling mixture is just fine, but not stupendous. I printed the recipe, bought the groceries and supervised and my wife and mother-in-law made the pie. My wife gave it a 6 on a 1 to 10 scale, which I thought was just about right. The recipe's major advantage is ease of preparation. It's quick and easy. I prefer "real" pie crust, but my wife wanted gram cracker crust (If mama ain't happy ....). Still, it *would* have been better with the real stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: May 6, 2007
Good recipe for when you are in a hurry. However, it was not as good as baked Key Lime Pie. Also, I did not add the food coloring due to the fact that Key Limes are yellow not green. I will make this recipe again when time is a factor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2001
This was so easy to make. It was light and tasty. I'm pleased with the results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Key Lime Pie VII

Use fresh key lime juice if you can, as it adds the biggest flavor.

Easy Key Lime Pie I

See how to make a quick-and-easy, award-winning key lime pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States