Key Lime Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
I've never liked storebought key lime pies, but it is my father-in-law's favorite so I made it for his Father's Day celebration. I used bottled Key Lime juice (Nellie & Joe's brand) and added a little bit of ordinary lime zest. Just a pinch. I found the crust ingredients to be insufficient to press into my 9" pie dish, so I added 1/4 cup more graham crackers and a little more butter and sugar to make it fit better. I totally overbaked the crust before I even got started, but the filling was delicious and the flavor was very good. It was not too sweet at all. For the whipping cream I used 2tbsp powdered sugar, but next time I'll use 3 to sweeten up the topping as a contrast to the tart limey filling. I think the people who say this tastes like condensed milk are probably not using good limes or lime juice, because it did not taste overly sweet at. We got the thumbs-up from my father-in-law.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mount Vernon, Washington, USA
Living In: Fairfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
Delicous! I did half lemon and half lime juice as suggested and you couldn't tell the difference and it was alot less expensive! Thanks for sharing this wonderful recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2010
This turned out great, everyone enjoyed this! I followed the recipe exactly and wouldn't change a thing. I definitely recommend serving straight from the freezer, it was a bit soft when thawed for 30 min. Thank you for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2010
I think using 1/4 cup lemon and 1/4 cup lime to make fresh key lime juice is the only way to go on this. I used whole graham crackers and smashed them by hand to make my own crumbs, which left me a little short in the pie dish, so I crumbled up more crackers and added a little more butter to make up the difference. I wasn't sure what the "fold the egg whites into the filling" meant, but I just poured the whites evenly over the filling and it seemed to come out ok. Maybe not the best looking pie in the end, but that's my fault. Great taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
This pie was really really good. I made it as my husbands birthday cake and thankfully I made 2 (doubled the recipe) because he ate a whole one himself in just over a day. And he is not a big eater usually. Key lime is his favorite and he REALLY really liked this pie. I liked the fact that it was baked just a little. I know the eggs supposedly cook in citric acid but I still feel better cooking even if it is only for 15 minutes. The pie set beautifully and looks beautiful. I added 1 drop of green food coloring just to push the color from yellow to green. I also added the zest of one lime and I could not find my cream of tartar so I omitted it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
This got rave reviews at our house! We were given a basket of key limes so I was able to use fresh squeezed lime juice. I cut a corner by using a pre-made graham cracker crust. I'm sure homemade would be better but the filling was so good it made up for it. I had to bake it a little longer than called for to get it to set up. I pulled it out of the freezer while we ate dinner and it was perfect to cut for dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2009
This pie was so easy to make and very light and creamy! It took about an extra 10 mins to cook, but yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2009
This is a great recipe. The filling is wonderful, light, creamy, and full of limey goodness. It took about twice as long to bake though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2009
I used bottled lime juice and pressed the graham crumb crust only into the bottom of my pie dish to save time. Everyone loved it, I'd definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHERYLASTRA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2009
My husband loves key lime pie so I found this recipe to make for his birthday. It turned out perfect. I didn't use fresh squeezed juice, rather, bottled juice from the produce section call Sicilia Key Lime Juice (plastic lime bottle). I found it plenty limey and delicious, though I've never had key lime pie before so I am not an expert on these matters. The husband won't eat whipped cream so I skipped that and just used reddi-whip on mine and I thought it complemented the tartness well. I served my husband's w/ just blueberries. The only issue I had was that the crust stuck to the pie plate and it was very difficult to get a slice out in one piece. I had used pam, tho the recipe didn't say to, so maybe that was the problem? I'll make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 188) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Key Lime Pie VII

Use fresh key lime juice if you can, as it adds the biggest flavor.

Easy Key Lime Pie I

See how to make a quick-and-easy, award-winning key lime pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States