Key Lime Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2006
Loved this! I made it for my dad, who's a huge pie eater and he thought it was terrific! We aren't big on graham cracker crusts, though, so I used a homemade pastry pie shell I prebaked. I used real key limes, and the flavor was excellent! Next time, I may try just using lemons and see how good that turns out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA
Living In: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2006
Just the recipe I was looking for. The stiff egg whites made it very airy/fluffy, and the taste was true to the key limes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aimeeserene

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Berkeley, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2006
Fantastic, stupendous, outrageous, scrumptious! I made this for all my girlfriends. It was a huge success, and I only ate the crumbs. I was unable to get real key lime juice, so I substituted 1/2 lime, 1/2 lemon. It was awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2006
I made this pie for a graduation party and it was a big hit. I followed to recipe exactly except for adding a bit of powdered ginger to the crust and it came out perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2006
I had no trouble w/this turning out smooth and silky. I did make the crust. I had a 9.5 inch pie dish so I just crushed up one entire package of graham crackers and added an extra Tbl spoon of Butter and little extra sugar to the crust mix and it turned out fine! I didnt bother letting it cool in the freezer as long as the recipe suggested. I pulled the finished pie out of the oven, let it cool for about 30min, popped it in the freezer for 1hr, then I topped it w/cool whip and placed it in the fridge and the texture/temp was just right! I will make this again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2006
I would have to agree with "Sarah" who reviewed, that it was light and fluffly, and I was in the mood for smooth and silky key lime pie. All the key lime flavors come out but not my favorite recipe. Oh, but I did add a drop of coconut flavoring to my whipped cream and decorated the top. Fun!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2006
Yummy and limey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Vail, Colorado, USA
Photo by angelaBBf
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2006
This keylime was awesome. It was light and fluffy - just like I like them. I got raving compliments when I served it at Easter dinner. This one will definitely be made again in our house! The only change I made was the crust - I bought a pre-made pastry crust instead of the graham cracker crust. And I would bake the pie a little longer - it didn't set up quite as well as I would have liked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2006
I'm not sure if this is how key lime is supposed to taste, but it really wasn't what I was looking for. The whipped egg whites gave it an airy, foamy texture. If you're into that kind of thing, it definitely is a good recipe. I was looking for something a bit more smooth and creamy. I wouldn't make this pie again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Flagstaff, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2006
This was the first Key Lime Pie I've ever made and it was really impressive, if I do say so myself. Those I served it to were quite impressed. Although I'll admit that I skipped making the whip cream and bought a tub of Cool-Whip. It was just easier and fool-proof.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Schaumburg, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 190) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Key Lime Pie VII

Use fresh key lime juice if you can, as it adds the biggest flavor.

Easy Key Lime Pie I

See how to make a quick-and-easy, award-winning key lime pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States