Key Lime Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
Decadent and rich!! I made tartlets in muffin pans and the turned out beautifully!! I cut the sugar in the crust recipe down by 1 tablespoon to keep the sweet factor down to balance the custard. Beautiful crust, buttery and caramelized nicely contrasting with the tart sweetness of the smooth custard! Yum. Made it for friends after a Gumbo dinner and it complemented nicely!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
Pie has the delicious, distinctive key lime flavor. The filling texture is very light due to the egg whites being folded in. Would like a creamier filling so will try the recipe that uses only the egg yolks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2013
Excellent! The only changes I made were to use more graham crackers in my crust and I did not use melted butter, but softened butter. This makes the crust much easier to work with and gives a nicer all around crust. Anyway, beyond that I made it as written (using bottled, real key lime juice). My husband is a key lime pie addict and absolutely loved this pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2013
I made it as written and thought it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
I followed this recipe completely as written except the pie crust. I followed another reviewer's suggestions and used 1.5 cups graham crakers, 6 T butter, 1/4 cup sugar. The pie comes out very fluffy and has an awesome texture (if you like fluffy pies!) but is extremely tart!! I've never really had key lime pie before, so I don't know how tart it's supposed to be. Some other reviewers stated there wasn't enough filling for a 9" pie pan, but I guess with the thicker crust this isn't a problem because mine filled up to the top perfectly and did not overflow. I ended up baking it for about 16 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
My husband is crazy about key lime pie, and this one made him very happy! It is delicious and easy to make. The only labor-intensive part is squeezing those tiny limes, but if you do that ahead of time, the rest of the pie comes together quickly. Highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cambridge, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Portland, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
PERFECT! I could not find "Key Limes" so I used 2 Limes and 2 Lemons and it gave me 1/2 Cup and turned out PERFECT...my guests could not believe I didn't use real Key Limes. I topped it with a "Sour Cream Whipped Cream" i found on this site...was a perfect match. (3/4C whipping cream, 1/4C sour cream, 1/2-1tsp Vanilla, and 1/4C conf Sugar *i used less sugar*)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milford, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2012
This is a lighter key lime pie, not as dense as most. You basically get all of the flavor without much of the guilt, which is perfect. I'll definitely be making this again! My notes on the recipe: I made some adjustments to the crust as well. I eliminated the sugar, and like other reviewers, I reduced the butter to 4T, or 1/4 cup. For the rest of the recipe, I followed the directions as written, except I added 1 tsp grated lime zest. I allowed the pie to cool for 30 minutes before placing it in the refrigerator for an hour. I then froze the pie for one hour before serving, and the consistency was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ELVISCOSTELLOFAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
I'm usually not a fan of lemon or lime flavored thing, but this pie was very good! Waiting for it to freeze is crucial for the consistency to be right. We used cool whip instead of heavy whipping cream for the decorative topping, and it worked out just fine, probably even easier to do. This pie is a perfect summer treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by anguye52

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
My husband lived in Florida for many years and is a key lime pie aficionado. I have tried many recipes over the years, and none have succeeded, until now. I used a regular pie crust instead of a graham cracker crust, and I also added 1/2 tsp of vanilla and 3 tbs of powdered sugar to the whipped cream topping. He is absolutely thrilled! Thanks IRENED for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsAltmiller

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Living In: Dixon, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 188) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Key Lime Pie VII

Use fresh key lime juice if you can, as it adds the biggest flavor.

Easy Key Lime Pie I

See how to make a quick-and-easy, award-winning key lime pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States