Key Lime Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2004
My local grocer does not carry key lime juice, so I used a mixture of lemon and lime (probably 1/4 to 3/4 ratio), and the flavor was quite good. I loved the mousse-like texture! I used my own pastry crust rather than a graham-cracker crust. I made it for a party, but very few people even tasted it. The next day I served it to my family, and they were unenthusiastic. I loved it and had really hoped for rave reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2004
The pie came out great. I don't have access to "key limes" or "key lime juice" so I used 1/4 cup of Realemon and 1/4 cup of Realime. I added a pinch of salt to the juice - it is listed in the ingredients, but not mentioned in the directions. When I make the whipped topping I add a tsp of vanilla extract and 3 tbsps white sugar. Next time I make this I might add a drop of green food colouring when I fold in the egg whites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MinxyBaby

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2004
I just made this last night with fresh key limes and fresh lemons. I thought it was really good. Haven't shared it with anyone yet. I thought it was a little sweet. I used reduced fat condensed milk. I may try next time with all key limes. I used a prepared graham cracker crust and refrigerated overnight. I'll definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2004
I made this pie for my boyfriend's birthday and we absolutely LOVE it. It's hands down the best dessert I've ever made! Too bad we have to take the remainder to share with his family! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2004
Needed a bit of sugar but was still tart and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2004
As other reviewers said they had problems with the base I decided to use my own recipe. The filling turned out fantastic. It was flavoursome (not too sweet or sour) and had a beautiful consistancy - almost cheesecake like. I didn't put it in the freezer, just in the fridge and it was fine. A very easy to prepare and inexpensive dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hot Chilli

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2004
My family didn't care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Maple Valley, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2004
Good, has a light and fluffy texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Germantown, Maryland, USA
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2004
I loved this recipe. The beaten egg whites really lightend up the pie. I used regular lime juice and the juice of one lemon (all from our citrus trees). I also added lime zest to the filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2004
The filling in this pie was good enough, but the pie crust stuck to the pie plate and caused a mess. Also, for novice cooks like myself, it would have been helpful to know that the whipping cream needs to be sweetened with sugar. I don't think I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 190) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Key Lime Pie VII

Use fresh key lime juice if you can, as it adds the biggest flavor.

Easy Key Lime Pie I

See how to make a quick-and-easy, award-winning key lime pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States