Key Lime Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2001
What an awesome recipe! This was the first key lime pie I've ever made, and it turned out fantastic! The second time I made it, I used fat-free sweetened condensed milk - big mistake - it was 'pasty.' I also reduced the amount of lime juice to make the pie a little firmer, and wished I hadn't - it didn't have enough lime flavor. The third time I made this, I reduced the butter by 1 Tbl., and used only 1/4 cup. I liked that much better. Don't be afraid to bake it the entire time, as that's what makes the filling firm and not runny. Note that this pie tastes much better the next day. Also, I liked increasing the crust ingredients per Ina Garten's recipe on FoodNetwork to 1 1/2 cups graham cracker crumbs, 1/4 cup sugar, and 6 Tbl. butter - makes a larger crust that is easier to work with, before and after baking. Note that you will need approximately 15 key limes + 1 regular lime OR 8-10 regular limes for the required amount of juice. Thanks so much for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
115 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2007
If you are looking for something light, fluffy and delicious- this is it! I used 1 1/2 cans condensed milk; 2/3 key lime juice; 3 jumbo egg yolks (no whole eggs); and folded in 2 whipped egg whites. I added 1 ounce of lime jello for color and extra flavor. Wonderful! (I did not freeze it.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NOLA Deb
Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2002
I only got a tiny taste of this pie which i made for my father in law, who is a key lime pie lover. He said it was the best keylime pie he's ever had. It's hard to beat my mother in laws cooking, but she called ME and asked for the recipe! I'll make this particular recipe for him every year. It's quick, simple and got high marks with the family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2006
I had no trouble w/this turning out smooth and silky. I did make the crust. I had a 9.5 inch pie dish so I just crushed up one entire package of graham crackers and added an extra Tbl spoon of Butter and little extra sugar to the crust mix and it turned out fine! I didnt bother letting it cool in the freezer as long as the recipe suggested. I pulled the finished pie out of the oven, let it cool for about 30min, popped it in the freezer for 1hr, then I topped it w/cool whip and placed it in the fridge and the texture/temp was just right! I will make this again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2002
After hearing other people saying that the filling was not enough for a pie, i decided to double the recipe and it was delicious. I put lime peel in it also. If you don't want to waste the egg whites, make a meringue otherwise, it was good without the whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2006
This is the second time this week I've made this pie..To die for! I just wasn't sure if it was suppose to be served frozen, or froze then refrigerated (thats how I ended up doing it) Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2007
Very nice recipe. I thought the taste was just right. I wish it was a bit thicker though - maybe I will add more filling next time. I made it in a springform pan and that helped with getting the pie out. I always detroy pies when they are in the traditional pan. I enjoyed it frozen and just chilled in the fridge as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2006
Fantastic, stupendous, outrageous, scrumptious! I made this for all my girlfriends. It was a huge success, and I only ate the crumbs. I was unable to get real key lime juice, so I substituted 1/2 lime, 1/2 lemon. It was awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2002
Tastes just like restaurant pies, very easy to make...don't be fooled by the fact that it's not green!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2001
This is a fantastic pie. I first made it for a baby shower and it was a hit. I used a bit of green food coloring and a bit of finely grated rind from both a lemon and a lime for some added zing. Cathy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 188) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Key Lime Pie VII

Use fresh key lime juice if you can, as it adds the biggest flavor.

Easy Key Lime Pie I

See how to make a quick-and-easy, award-winning key lime pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States