Key Lime Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2008
I made this pie. It was just a little to sweet for my tastes.Not quite what I wanted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mendota, Illinois, USA
Living In: Centralia, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2008
I have been looking for this recipe for a long time. Great taste and just the right amount of tartness. Very easy to make. I guided my 10 yr old granddaughter in making it with very little help. Best without the whip cream to enjoy the key lime flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2008
I've made this recipe several times now and EVERYONE loves it. I've even had debates with people from Florida and Key West on how this recipe rates with "real" Key Lime Pie from Key West. I think this pie comes out lighter, in comparison, and personally I think it is better than the other "custard-like" Key Lime Pies I've had. It is simple and comes out fantastic every time. Served cold or frozen is the best! I find making the graham cracker crust makes the pie even that much better than the store bought pie crusts. This recipe helped snag my current boyfriend (he's from Florida :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2008
This pie was wonderful!!! Key lime pie is my favorite pie but I had never made one from scratch. The recipe was easy and it tasted out of this world. Everyone said how refreshing it was. I followed the recipe exactly and everyone couldn't believe this was the first time I had ever made a key lime pie!! Thanks for a wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nickyp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moline, Illinois, USA
Living In: Jefferson, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2008
I loved this pie. I made it for work and everyone luved it, although I might use just a tad less condensed milk, little sweet. I made a few changes, after reading others reviews, like I used a reduced fat, pre made graham cracker crust and I used reduced fat condensed milk. I also did not freeze it, just let it cool, then left it in the fridge, unwrapped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2008
Really good! I made the following changes though. 1 and 1/4 cup graham crumbs with 1/4 cup butter for crust. Didn't add sugar. I couldn't find key lime juice so I used the 1/4 cup lemon juice and 1/4th lime juice (wasn't fresh. was from those lemon/lime shaped squeeze plastic bottle.) I also added about 1 teaspoon grated lime peel an sprinkled extra on top. Sweet with good lime flavour! I cheated on the whip cream and used dream whip. I would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2008
Not enough lime flavor, and too much condensed milk flavor even when I added less. However it would make a pretty good pie with a few slight modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2008
Not so good. Condensed milk taste was way too strong. Maybe my condensed mild was too old?? Otherwise very easy to make. Especially liked the graham cracker crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Springfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
I made this for Easter and it was a great hit. The only things I would change would be to have the whipping cream sweater. I also added green dye to make it more festive and I added lime zest to the pie filling. Yum, Yum, Yummy! A big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Starsha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sweeny, Texas, USA
Living In: Helena, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2007
YUM!! This is the best key lime pie I've ever had. Its perfect. Not too tart, just right. Make sure you make your own crust. I bought a pre-made graham cracker crust (Keebler, I think) and it wasn't good. I will definitely make the homemade crust next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrsdoos

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 188) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Key Lime Pie VII

Use fresh key lime juice if you can, as it adds the biggest flavor.

Easy Key Lime Pie I

See how to make a quick-and-easy, award-winning key lime pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States