Key Lime Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2008
Not so good. Condensed milk taste was way too strong. Maybe my condensed mild was too old?? Otherwise very easy to make. Especially liked the graham cracker crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Springfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
I made this for Easter and it was a great hit. The only things I would change would be to have the whipping cream sweater. I also added green dye to make it more festive and I added lime zest to the pie filling. Yum, Yum, Yummy! A big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Starsha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sweeny, Texas, USA
Living In: Helena, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2007
YUM!! This is the best key lime pie I've ever had. Its perfect. Not too tart, just right. Make sure you make your own crust. I bought a pre-made graham cracker crust (Keebler, I think) and it wasn't good. I will definitely make the homemade crust next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrsdoos

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2007
Solo le falla un poco el merengue (Translation: The meringue was lacking a little something.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2007
Maybe I'm doing something wrong, or maybe I'm not used to "real" Key Lime pie. It wasn't "light" to me at all - too rich for my tastes. I couldn't get over the fact that I was essentially just eating eggs, condensed milk and lime juice. Doesn't sound appetizing when you put it that way - haha. Maybe I'm a wuss, but I'm going to try again later with pudding or something mixed in to give it more substance. Also - after only a day or so, it started "oozing" which looks REALLY gross.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sporkism

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stilwell, Kansas, USA
Living In: Lenexa, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2007
If you are looking for something light, fluffy and delicious- this is it! I used 1 1/2 cans condensed milk; 2/3 key lime juice; 3 jumbo egg yolks (no whole eggs); and folded in 2 whipped egg whites. I added 1 ounce of lime jello for color and extra flavor. Wonderful! (I did not freeze it.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NOLA Deb
Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2007
I have eaten this pie 3 times made by various cooks. Everyone who tries it loves it and wants the recipe. Even the inexperienced baker had an excellent result getting rave reviews. Everyone followed the recipe obsessively. The only think I noticed is there was a difference in the "lime" taste between the pies despite each using the same amount. No one used key limes and so I think some limes have different intensities than others. In any case this is an awesome pie and everyone who tries it loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2007
Very nice flavor. Not too sweet, but sweet enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Merrittorious

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Bainbridge Island, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2007
I made this pie, based on the reviews of others. It was the first one I'd ever made and turned out great! My In-laws thought it was the best pie she'd ever had. I would definitely use this recipe again. The only thing I changed was I used a store bought pie crust and I didn't use whip cream; served it plain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SAXYBONE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: May 25, 2007
What a great recipe. Unlike other key lime pies I have made, this one is really light, and it lets you enjoy the flavor without making a sour face. I used a 1/2 cup of lime(regular lime) and a 1/4 cup of lemon and the flavor was perfect. I also didn't put mine in the freezer, just in the fridge until it was time to devour. Another nice touch is fresh raspberries on top or puree them drizzle on the plate. Keylime and raspberries is a classic compbo!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tkkash

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 191) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Key Lime Pie VII

Use fresh key lime juice if you can, as it adds the biggest flavor.

Easy Key Lime Pie I

See how to make a quick-and-easy, award-winning key lime pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States