Key Lime Pie - Low Carb Version Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2005
Excellent recipe! I doubled the crust and left the filling as per the recipe and put it in a 9 x 13 pan. Next time I plan to add whipping cream to the top. Great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2006
After having no sweets for weeks, I thoroughly enjoyed this recipe. I first tried it with strawberry/banana jello because I live out of country and it was the only flavor of sugar free to be found. I thought it tasted a bit like a banana split! When a visiting friend brought the lime jello, I made it with lime and found it to be excellent. It is not going to rival REAL key lime pie, but if sugar and flour have been banished from your eating plan, this makes a very satisfying substitution. (We also don't have coconut extract. I've been using vanilla most of the time.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2005
I used vanilla, instead of the coconut. The flavor was excellent. I think next time I'll make more of the crust, so it's thicker. Thanks for the recipe! My low carb husband loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2010
This has been one of the best sugar free treats I have had. I've made it twice, and liked my modifications to make it more tart. Modified: vanilla instead of coconut; sour cream instead of heavy cream (just mix in with cheese); half the package of jello; and added juice and zest of one lime. Almost like real key lime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2004
Suggestions, try using one packet of splenda instead of two. Use vanilla extract instead of coconut. I did this and it turned out very well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Fairhope, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2004
Really good for so low carb!!! It is like a mousse pie. Be sure to let your cream cheese sit out for a long time to soften. Loved the pecan crust- I just used pecan chips.(very small) I mixed the jello into the boiling water in the saucepan, then added the cold water. Then poured it into the KitchenAid bowl & went from there. I let the crust sit in the fridge for 1 hour & the finished pie for 5 hours. Lots of filling that I had to pile up- but it worked! Beautiful with the sprinkling of pecan chips on the top. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2004
I found that this recipe is too sweet. Next time I think I'll try with only one box of sugar free jello. My family could only stand to eat a very small piece. The crust however, was great. I think I'll use this crust with other recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2008
Pretty good...nice and tart. Lots of flavor makes up for lack of carbs. Didn't really like the crust. Might make only half so it isn't so thick next time. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manhattan, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2008
I made this recipe at the same time that I was making real Key Lime Pie for everyone else. I don't like real Key Lime Pie, but this is noting like it. It's nice and sweet with a soft cheesecake-like texture. It was very yummy. I loved the crust. I am going to use that crust more often for other pies that I make. I will also try this pie with different flavors of Jell-o. Don't eat too much of it though. It may be low-carb and that's great, but it's very fatty. Pecans are fatty, so is cream cheese, and heavy cream of course. I just ate a piece and now I'm headed to the Gym.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel Kelly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Marion, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AmyCeltic
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
I was very happy to find a Low Carb version for pie! I am not a lover of Key Lime Pie, but I could not resist, since I have not been able to have a piece of pie since I started my Low Carb Diet to reduce my blood sugar, as I am Diabetic. This was amazing! I love the Pecan Crust, that was my favorite part, and I will be using it to make other kinds of pie. I am trying to figure out a way to make a Coconut Cream Pie! I think I beat the cream too long, because my pie came out a bit 'tough' but it was still delicious! The Coconut was a definate show stopper! Yummy! It is very rich, so I was only able to have 2 pieces (I saved up my carbs all day so I could really go crazy, but it was too rich, and that is not a bad thing). I thought that crust and the pie could have had more Splenda added to them, as they were not sweet enough for me, but I like things sweet. All in all this was an excellent experiment, and I am going to have fun making as many different things as I can from this! For Low Carbers out there like me, it is a definate winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AmyCeltic

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Key Lime Pie VII

Use fresh key lime juice if you can, as it adds the biggest flavor.

Easy Key Lime Pie I

See how to make a quick-and-easy, award-winning key lime pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States