Key Lime Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2015
Had too much of an eggy flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brookline, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2015
As a lemon-lime ice cream this recipe isn't half bad. (Key limes are small and round--about the proportions of a ping pong ball--and have almost no pith. Real key limes have a distinctive flavor all their own that cannot be replicated with other citrus.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2013
This tasted just like the filling in a key lime pie. Next time I would only use half the lemon zest because it was a little too strong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie E.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
Superb!! Outstanding. We loved this recipe. Used 1 1/4 cup half and half along with 1cup whipping cream. Took 3 fresh limes to make the juice and then I added a splash of lemon juice to get the full amount. We will be making this again and again! As a bonus we made merigue cookies with the leftover egg whites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CC♥'s2bake
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2012
I made this recipe as written, with the exception of omitting the 2 eggs, just using the yolks. The texture was beautiful ~ creamy, smooth and rich. My only issue was with the level of tartness. I would reduce the lime juice to 1/2 cup and also add a good pinch of salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2012
I love this ice cream but I modified it the second time around to make it creamier and take the bite out of the tart. I used 1 cup whole milk and 1 1/4 cup half and half it turned out so creamy and it took the edge off the tartness. Love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Banks

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Killeen, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
Came out great but only because I didn't follow the instructions at all... Mix the egg mixture in a bowl. Bring the CREAM mixture to a boil, then slowly wisk hot cream into the egg mixture. Transfer back to the pot and heat slowly, stirring constantly until the mixture thickens enough to coat the back of a spoon. Cool and freeze in an ice cream maker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth Reiter

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
Haven't tried this yet, (thus making my rating somewhat moot, but you have to put one) but it's next in line. I'm supposing that, since it's key lime ice cream, key lime juice is intended. I don't know what "half and half cream" is- I'll try just half and half, seems like enough eggs for that to work
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Janice
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
We really liked this ice cream. It's really creamy and refreshing. We made a few changes. We used both sweetened lime juice (1/2 cup) and lemon juice (1/4 cup). We didn't have lemon zest, so we omitted that. If we were to make it again, we would probably decrease the sugar by half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
I just bought an ice cream freezer and have been trying several ice cream recipes for it. This one is by far my favorite! Great blend of tart and sweet flavor. Creamy, rich texture. The only change I made was in adding crumbled graham crackers the last few minutes of freezing. It makes it tastes a little more like key lime pie and gives it a little crunch as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harrisonville, Missouri, USA
Living In: Bentonville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Strawberry Ice Cream

Just in time for summer! See how to make quick, simple strawberry ice cream.

Guinness Ice Cream

Stout beer-flavored ice cream with subtle smoky, chocolaty flavors.

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States