Key Lime Daiquiri Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2014
Having created my own Key Lime Cake (BabyCakesByOrangeman.com) I wanted to see how it fared with others. This is a very good pound cake recipe. I would give it 4 stars as it was somewhat on the dryer side than I like. But as for it being a "Key Lime" cake, it gets 2 stars. The flavor is not substantial enough to be called a Key Lime cake. It was dense but not moist enough for me. Sometimes using shortening will cause this compared to oil or applesauce. The glaze also did not work well for me. It was too tart and not sweet enough. Those that found this to be a good "Key Lime" cake must not have tasted the cake without the glaze. A good cake should be able to stand on its own flavor and the icing or glaze should only be (if you'll pardon the pun) 'the icing on the cake'. Bill "The BabyCakes by Orangeman" guy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ORANGEMAN

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2014
Brilliant! My husband made a request of a key lime cake for his birthday. I'd never heard of such a thing so we went looking and found this recipe. It is obscenely good! Based on other reviews I doubled the zest that goes in the cake and doubled the glaze. Terrific! There is also another reviewer that emphasized taking time to cream the butter/sugar properly. I attribute the marvelous texture to that reminder to be patient. Also, I took it out to check at 65 minutes, but it was a tiny bit wet still, after 70 minutes it was perfect. Another 5 minutes would certainly have killed it, so I don't think it's wise to cook it as long as it calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
I have been using this recipe for years and it's really one of the best ever. I bake and decorate cakes and the basic recipe (without the lime juice or zest) is my standard vanilla cake. It's perfect for all types of pans, carves easily and stacks well. It's versatile and can be altered to all sorts of flavors. That said, there are a few key points that I'd like to make. One is that when you cream the shortening, butter and sugar together it takes at least 5 minutes. Light and fluffy doesn't happen quickly. The beating incorporates air into the mix and that's what gives you a moist and tender cake. Turn the mixer on medium (4 on a Kitchen Aid) and walk away, clean up, mix your dry ingredients, whatever. Two is mixing according to the recipe, dry ingredients and then liquid, beginning and ending with dry. Beat at medium-low speed (3 on a KA) for about 40 seconds in between, and be sure to scrape down the bowl at least once. Third, you don't have to stir the juices and zests in at the end, you can just mix them into your milk after you measure the milk. The juices added to the milk will make the milk curdle and get thick (like buttermilk) and this is fine. Lastly, bake your cake at 325F with the oven rack in the center position and 65 minutes is the maximum. If your cake isn't done then you need to get an oven thermometer and test your oven. Hope this helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
This was a hit at my after Thanksgiving party. It was a last minute decision to make the cake because I had key limes to use. My only complaint was that the time given was too long and the cake burned slightly on the top. I probably will make it again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by It's A New Day

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Purcellville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Winchester, Virginia, USA
Photo by ellenz
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2012
I love the looks of this cake, I love the taste of the batter, and love the taste of the glaze. I posted two pictures. One of the cake with the glaze, prepared and baked exactly as instructed. The only thing I changed was to use regular limes instead of key limes. The second picture is after I added my own frosting because I decided it looked to bland and may have tasted too dry without some sort of frosting. I used 2 Tablespoons of softened butter creamed into 1 cup of confectioners sugar and then added the zest of one small regular lime along with 1 Tablespoon of rum and the juice of that same lime. I added 1 tsp of vanilla also. I then drizzled it over the cake. It looks prettier and should add to the moisture. We ate it, it was delicate, and delicious. Not dry at all. Everyone else loved it, I liked it but would have liked a little more lime flavor. Next time I will try adding a teaspoon of lemon extract, to give more flavor. It is a good recipe though, and would be great if leftovers are cubed and layered with lemon curd or pudding in a trifle. I will certainly make this again. If you like poundcake, this is a good one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
great cake -- moist and tender! I left out the lime zest, added a little less rum and a little more key lime juice to both the cake and the glaze and we loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
My family loved this cake. I like tart flavors so I added more lime juice to both the cake batter and the glaze. WONDERFUL summertime cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2011
Delicious! I got rave reviews for this. I followed some of the other reviewers and used sour cream instead of milk, and also tripled the lime zest. It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHELSEAK3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holladay, Utah, USA
Living In: Riverton, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
It needs more key lime juice. Probably a 1/4 cup should do the trick and maybe using real rum as well or a rum extract and not "flavoring" should kick it up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Newport News, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
cake was good. however it needs to be cooked for a little more than an hour and not 90 minutes. i liked the texture. but was looking for more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

Key Lime Pie VII

Use fresh key lime juice if you can, as it adds the biggest flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States