Key Lime Daiquiri Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2001
My boyfriend really enjoys key lime pies, so I put this together for him. Great recipe! Reminds me of my grandmother's pound cake, but with a key lime zing. He loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2002
My family and friends rave about this cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2004
I made this cake for my grandaughter's 18th birthday. She wanted a mexican meal and this cake was perfect for dessert. My daughter-in-law said this cake was refreshing. It is a pound cake with a light but distinguished flavor. It is added to my recipe box, a definate keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2006
Wonderful flavor. Baked at 325f. and the cake tested done in 1 hour and 15 minutes instead of the recommended 90 minutes. A bit n the dry side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2007
While this cake certainly had it's good points, overall I was a little disappointed. The flavor was certainly delicate, and would have appreciated a stronger lime taste. Maybe next time I will double the amount of lime zest I put in. The glaze was delicious, but I think I would also double the amount of glaze to make the cake more flavorful overall. As per other reviews, the cake was actually ready after about 75 minutes. It was a little dry I felt also. Sour cream as a replacement for milk may remedy this. I think I will try again and make some alterations as the cake does have potential.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Birmingham, Staffordshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kristin
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
Great cake. The only change I made was to drizzle it with coconut syrup after adding the lime glaze. The coconut syrup really brings it together. Baked in a tube pan, drizzled with the syrup, and garnished with lime it makes a beautiful and tasty cake :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
cake was ok doesn't pack the punch i was looking for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DA DUTCHESS

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Largo, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
cake was good. however it needs to be cooked for a little more than an hour and not 90 minutes. i liked the texture. but was looking for more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
It needs more key lime juice. Probably a 1/4 cup should do the trick and maybe using real rum as well or a rum extract and not "flavoring" should kick it up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Newport News, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: May 31, 2011
Delicious! I got rave reviews for this. I followed some of the other reviewers and used sour cream instead of milk, and also tripled the lime zest. It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHELSEAK3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holladay, Utah, USA
Living In: Riverton, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Pound Cake III

A classic recipe for a cream cheese pound cake.

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States