Key Lime Daiquiri Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2001
My boyfriend really enjoys key lime pies, so I put this together for him. Great recipe! Reminds me of my grandmother's pound cake, but with a key lime zing. He loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2002
My family and friends rave about this cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2004
I made this cake for my grandaughter's 18th birthday. She wanted a mexican meal and this cake was perfect for dessert. My daughter-in-law said this cake was refreshing. It is a pound cake with a light but distinguished flavor. It is added to my recipe box, a definate keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2006
Wonderful flavor. Baked at 325f. and the cake tested done in 1 hour and 15 minutes instead of the recommended 90 minutes. A bit n the dry side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2007
While this cake certainly had it's good points, overall I was a little disappointed. The flavor was certainly delicate, and would have appreciated a stronger lime taste. Maybe next time I will double the amount of lime zest I put in. The glaze was delicious, but I think I would also double the amount of glaze to make the cake more flavorful overall. As per other reviews, the cake was actually ready after about 75 minutes. It was a little dry I felt also. Sour cream as a replacement for milk may remedy this. I think I will try again and make some alterations as the cake does have potential.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Birmingham, Staffordshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kristin
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
Great cake. The only change I made was to drizzle it with coconut syrup after adding the lime glaze. The coconut syrup really brings it together. Baked in a tube pan, drizzled with the syrup, and garnished with lime it makes a beautiful and tasty cake :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
cake was ok doesn't pack the punch i was looking for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DA DUTCHESS

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Largo, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
cake was good. however it needs to be cooked for a little more than an hour and not 90 minutes. i liked the texture. but was looking for more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
It needs more key lime juice. Probably a 1/4 cup should do the trick and maybe using real rum as well or a rum extract and not "flavoring" should kick it up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Newport News, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2011
Delicious! I got rave reviews for this. I followed some of the other reviewers and used sour cream instead of milk, and also tripled the lime zest. It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHELSEAK3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holladay, Utah, USA
Living In: Riverton, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Key Lime Pie VII

Use fresh key lime juice if you can, as it adds the biggest flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States