Key Lime Cream Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 3, 2011
This is the same recipe that Cook's Illustrated uses. For those of you finding it "grainy", MAKE SURE to blend the lime juice with the condensed milk very well BEFORE you add the eggs. Adding the lime juice directly to the eggs in any way will start to "cook" the eggs from so much acid all at once. This happened to me when I was in a rush one time and just dumped the eggs, condensed milk, and lime juice all at once.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2006
In my honest opinion - the recipe deserves 5 stars for it's simplicty and the the fact that it can be made so quickly... but for taste and texture it's an average 3 star rating. It's just the right amount of tartness using 1/2 cup, but if you're looking for a more intense lime taste you can you might try using 3/4 cup instead. I used fresh key limes (if you don't have a garlic press to juice the limes, the next best way to juice them would be to cut them in half and score the halves - take a teaspoon and insert it into the scored half and twist the teaspoon as you squeeze the lime - this helps ensure you get all the juice possible) - just run the juice through a fine mesh drainer to remove seeds and any pulp. As one reviewer mentioned, the texture is a little bit grainy- most people wouldn't notice it, hence another reviewer disagreeing and noting it was smooth and creamy. I could tell it slightly off in the texture, but it doesn't affect the flavor. I used a graham cracker crust (store bought because I was all out of graham crackers)... I prefer a graham cracker crust versus a regular pie crust for this particular pie. However, if you do use a graham cracker crust the upper part of the crust will overcook due to the length of time and temperature the pie must cook for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Serena

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
I made this pie with my oldest son. We made a homemade graham cracker crust, other than that we made no other changes. This turned out pretty good but I think that I like key lime pies made with egg yolks instead of the whole egg. I think the mouth feel is different, it's creamier. There's nothing wrong with this recipe, it's a personal preferance. The kids and I liked it, though. I served it with whipped cream on top. As with most key lime pies, this pie tastes better the longer it sits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2002
I had great hopes for this recipe after reading the reviews and seeing how simple it was to prepare. Alas, the texture was not to our liking. It kind of reminded me of a grainy cheesecake. I'm in search of a creamy, light key lime pie and this wasn't it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2000
Having tried Key Lime Pie for the first time in Florida recently, I guess you could say I am hooked. I thought I would try to make it for Easter dessert for a change of pace. I am glad I did. This pie was EXTREMELY YUMMY! Definitely a keeper. Thanks Carolyn!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Windsor, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2002
Delicious! I made this last weekend while my sister-in-law visited. She said that it was a very good key lime pie (I had never had it before). The texture was good--I did use my new microplane grater for the lime rind. I found it VERY tart (as I am told key lime pies are supposed to be), so I made a slightly sweetened sour cream topping and offered sliced macerated strawberries for options. Surprisingly wonderful given the small amount of effort required. Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2005
A most refreshing dessert. My daughter first made this with regular lime juice, the next time we used key lime juice, either way, it is great. A wonderful summer dessert recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2008
This is the "standard" key lime pie recipe from the back of the juice bottle. It is easy and excellent and I've made it many, many times! Last night, I went to the store and bought my pie crust, condensed milk and juice...came home, pre-heated the oven, and opened the fridge only to discover that I only had 1 egg. I was disappointed and wasn't about to got BACK to the store. I almost gave up but discovered a package of low-fat cream cheese and decided to wing it. I combined the can of condensed milk, a little more than 1/2 cup of juice, 1 egg and half the packet of cream cheese...and it worked! It's a much more creamy pie, but very tasty, too...so if you're ever in a egg pinch or prefer a more creamy pie, this might be one solution for you. (p.s. You have to let it cool completely before it sets.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Beaver, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2004
There are so many key lime recipes on the site and I am glad I decided on this one...the consistency was perfect...this was a big hit with my key lime loving friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2000
This is one of the best Key Lime pies I have had. It was a huge hit at a recent party. And it is unbelievably simple. Definitely worth a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Key Lime Pie VII

Use fresh key lime juice if you can, as it adds the biggest flavor.

Easy Key Lime Pie I

See how to make a quick-and-easy, award-winning key lime pie.

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States