Key Lime Cream Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2008
This is the "standard" key lime pie recipe from the back of the juice bottle. It is easy and excellent and I've made it many, many times! Last night, I went to the store and bought my pie crust, condensed milk and juice...came home, pre-heated the oven, and opened the fridge only to discover that I only had 1 egg. I was disappointed and wasn't about to got BACK to the store. I almost gave up but discovered a package of low-fat cream cheese and decided to wing it. I combined the can of condensed milk, a little more than 1/2 cup of juice, 1 egg and half the packet of cream cheese...and it worked! It's a much more creamy pie, but very tasty, too...so if you're ever in a egg pinch or prefer a more creamy pie, this might be one solution for you. (p.s. You have to let it cool completely before it sets.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Beaver, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2006
Nice recipe. Would make it again. I used a cracker base, but not Graham crackers as they are loaded with bad stuff. I used Paul Newman's Arrowroot crackers. I am at a loss to understand the comments that say the texture is grainy. Eggs, milk, limes hardly add up to grainy. Gettting the juice from the lime is as easy as putting the lime in the microwave for a 15 seconds and slicing it open and squeeze. I second the lady that uses the microfile. They are wonderful for any grating - limes, lemons, cheese. Worth every penny you pay for them. My Husband gives this key lime pie 9 out of 10 and he is the expert LOL. Happy Christmas to all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
Pie had nice flavor but texture terrible. I will not make this pie again. It was a disappointment and I made it for Thanksgiving dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2006
In my honest opinion - the recipe deserves 5 stars for it's simplicty and the the fact that it can be made so quickly... but for taste and texture it's an average 3 star rating. It's just the right amount of tartness using 1/2 cup, but if you're looking for a more intense lime taste you can you might try using 3/4 cup instead. I used fresh key limes (if you don't have a garlic press to juice the limes, the next best way to juice them would be to cut them in half and score the halves - take a teaspoon and insert it into the scored half and twist the teaspoon as you squeeze the lime - this helps ensure you get all the juice possible) - just run the juice through a fine mesh drainer to remove seeds and any pulp. As one reviewer mentioned, the texture is a little bit grainy- most people wouldn't notice it, hence another reviewer disagreeing and noting it was smooth and creamy. I could tell it slightly off in the texture, but it doesn't affect the flavor. I used a graham cracker crust (store bought because I was all out of graham crackers)... I prefer a graham cracker crust versus a regular pie crust for this particular pie. However, if you do use a graham cracker crust the upper part of the crust will overcook due to the length of time and temperature the pie must cook for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Serena

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2005
My family loved this pie! It was so simple we used around 16 extra small limes and I also added some lime from concentrate (but not enough to affect the flavor of the other limes as the additives in the concentrate tend to make it taste a bit awkward) It took 2 of the limes to get all the lime zest. Very good recipe I already have requests to make this pie again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2005
Very simple to make, nice texture, very creamy. BUT not enough lime taste for me. I would have liked it a little more tart. Next time I'll add about 3/4 C lime juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2005
The flavor was good but the texture was not. It was curdled and lumpy; not creamy and smooth as I remember key lime pie being. I will try another recipe on this site. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2005
This pie was quick and easy and my family loved it. I looked for a recipe that was baked, I didn't like the fact that some of the others had raw eggs. I found that it was smooth and creamy, not grainy as another reviewer said.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2005
A most refreshing dessert. My daughter first made this with regular lime juice, the next time we used key lime juice, either way, it is great. A wonderful summer dessert recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2005
I made this pie in my families "oil-crust" pie crust...which is quite yummy. The pie's consistency was perfect, and the flavor was good...I was 1/8 c. short on my fresh key lime juice, so I filled in with Rose's sweetened lime juice from the 'bar stock'. I would add a tiny drop of green food coloring, just so folks stop asking you if it's lemon or lime. I plan on entering this in an upcoming contest...VERY GOOD RECIPE...QUICK AND EASY.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wilmington, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Key Lime Pie VII

Use fresh key lime juice if you can, as it adds the biggest flavor.

Easy Key Lime Pie I

See how to make a quick-and-easy, award-winning key lime pie.

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States