Key Lime Cream Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2014
This morning, I looked through five or six other recipes, trying to find one without heavy cream, etc., since I don't have any and didn't feel like going to the store. This was perfect, since there are so few ingredients and I had a can of condensed milk. I didn't notice any graininess. I used a store-bought graham cracker crust. It turned out great, and was very easy to make. I also used a whisk instead of the mixer, but I made sure to mix it thoroughly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2014
So simple and so delicious. Perfect consistency. I prefer it to be a bit more on the tart side so I added several more dashes of lime juice and kept tasting it as I went along until it finally suit my fancy. I didn't use key limes since I couldn't find them in any supermarket or specialty store. I used lime juice and I think it worked out just as well. Will definitely make it again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
I have to agree with the last review that as written, the recipe will give you a grainy texture. Just beat the milk & lime juice together. Beat the eggs separately, and then mix all together and quickly pour into pie crust and it will turn out creamy and smooth. I made a homemade graham cracker crust & prebaked it 10 min & then cooked the pie for 30 min. and the crust was perfect..... not overcooked at all. Delicious. one of the best and definitely the easiest key lime pie recipes I've tried!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
I love this pie. I made it without the cream topping...and it was just perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
Delicious! It is definitely a task to squeeze out all those key limes, but everyone loved it! Our friends said it tasted and looked like a professionally made gourmet pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2012
I ended up with a whole mess of lemons and limes from centerpieces after a wedding and didn't know what to do with them. I was hesitant to try this recipe because there are so few ingredients and it is so simple. I thought anything as amazing as Key Lime pie must be more complicated. Not true! I made a pie about once a day until all the fruit was gone and I was never lacking for people who wanted to take it home with them. I used a 50/50 mixture of fresh lemon and lime juice in place of the key lime juice. It was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
I was looking for a "real" key lime pie recipe but baked with all the concern about salmonella. This was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
I made this pie with my oldest son. We made a homemade graham cracker crust, other than that we made no other changes. This turned out pretty good but I think that I like key lime pies made with egg yolks instead of the whole egg. I think the mouth feel is different, it's creamier. There's nothing wrong with this recipe, it's a personal preferance. The kids and I liked it, though. I served it with whipped cream on top. As with most key lime pies, this pie tastes better the longer it sits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
more like a custard, not creamy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
This is pretty much the same recipe as on the Nellie and Joe's key lime juice, except with the lime rind and it doesn't say graham crust. I thought it was awesome, it deserves 5 stars, but i'm giving it 4 because I didn't use the lime rind like this recipe, as I said, I used the recipe on the bottle of Nellie and Joe's key lime juice. Very yummy! =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Key Lime Pie VII

Use fresh key lime juice if you can, as it adds the biggest flavor.

Easy Key Lime Pie I

See how to make a quick-and-easy, award-winning key lime pie.

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States