Key Lime Cheesecake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2003
My 13 year old made this recipe for her father's birthday. She took the advice of other reviewers and cut back on the key lime juice to 1/2 c. The cake turned out great. Light, creamy and very flavorful. She frosted it with whip cream and added a little lime zest. The cake had just the right amount of tartness. Also, she did make this a day ahead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2003
This was great! I did alter it though so that I could use 3 full packages of cream cheese instead of 2 and 1/2. In order to compensate for this, I added an extra egg, 1/2 tsp extra vanilla, 1/4 cup more of sugar. And I used my own crust recipe. I kept the key lime juice the same, however and found it more than adequate in the tartness department. Note to anyone using fresh key limes: It will take about 20 key limes to equal 3/4 cup of juice. Popping them in a bowl in the microwave for about 15 seconds will help them to release more juice when squeezed. I used a fork to pulverize the membranes as well. Although it does seem like I changed a lot, the methods involved in the preparation are sound, and the taste yields a very refreshing tang.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2003
A bit tart with the full 3/4 cup of juice. Cake itself has a nice texture and was easy to prepare. I reduced the juice to 1/2 cup and also added 1/2 cup powdered sugar. Really helped lighten up the taste. Definitely a good cake recipie for use with any flavoring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2002
The cheesecake was only about an inch high, but it had some kick to it! I used regular lime juice instead of key lime, and it came out fine. The preparation was a bit much though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2002
big hit every one loved it!i used lemon juice instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2002
Very tart, but just right with lightly sweetened whipped cream. Excellent texture; very easy to put together. Would definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2002
I loved it! Since key lime juice is much more tart than normal lime juice, I would recommend cutting back by half of the juice if you want the true key lime taste. This is a wonderful cheesecake though. I also cut the cooking time down by five minutes and then froze the cake overnight. The next day I brought it out of the freezer and served it after 20 minutes it was very refreshing ice cold!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2002
Fantastic recipe!! Loved by my husband, and everyone I serve it too! Easy to make! looks wonderful with the whip cream garnish and a few thinly sliced limes! Family favorite here in Florida! Much better than any pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2002
Love this cheesecake. very refreshing. I did add 1/4 cup more sugar. I tried reducing the key lime juice but that reduce it's zest. I wanted it tangy but a bit sweeter. Everyone that taste's this cake just loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2002
I reduced the lime juice to 2/3 cup. It was still tart, but very refreshing on a hot summer day. I think the amount of juice is really a matter of personal preference. The cheesecake itself turned out perfectly. I had never made one before, and this one looked beautiful (no cracks).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Key Lime Pie VII

Use fresh key lime juice if you can, as it adds the biggest flavor.

Easy Key Lime Pie I

See how to make a quick-and-easy, award-winning key lime pie.

How to Make Cheesecake

See how to make a classic cheesecake in five easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States