Key Lime Cheesecake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2006
I used someone else's suggestion to use half lime/half lemon juice to replicate key lime juice (key limes are v. expensive in MN), and it was just great. Two of my husband's favorite things, key lime pie and cheesecake, in one dish! I always use a knife to separate the baked cheesecake from the pan before letting it cool, and it hasn't cracked on me yet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: La Crosse, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Roseville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2006
USE THESE CHANGES! ... and make a fantastic Key Lime Cheesecake! Use 3 8-oz pkgs. cream cheese instead of 2 1/2 pkgs. Use 1/3 cup lime juice instead of 3/4 cup. Use 4 eggs instead of 3. The above changes will give you superb results! Additionally, when you take the cheesecake out of the oven and set it on a cooling rack, set a timer for 10 minutes. When the timer goes off, use a paring knife to gently separate the edge of the cheesecake from the pan. Continue to cool, and then chill 5 hours or overnight. The cheesecake will not crack and will easily come free of the pan, and look picture-perfect! Top with fresh whipped cream, (heavy whipping cream whipped with a dash of vanilla and just a tiny bit of powdered sugar). Thanks to all of you who wrote your comments to use MUCH less lime in this recipe! You saved me from making a drastic mistake, and now this recipe (with my alterations), is my favorite cheesecake recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
194 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2006
Exelent cheesecake, Added a little green food coloring to give it the lime look
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2005
Very tart but nice and tasty! The cake baked up beautifully and looking amazing. It tasted good, but gave me a pucker face more than once!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnie in GA
Home Town: Norcross, Georgia, USA
Living In: Sugar Hill, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2005
I made this for V-day and my boyfriend LOVED it...so did not family and co workers when I brought in the leftovers the next day. Like others, i did not add the FULL amount of key lime since I am not too keen on very tart stuff and it turned out great...!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ADZELL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2005
This was a very easy recipe...but a little on the tart side. I used 2 lbs. of cream cheese instead of 1 1/2. The crust is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2005
Yummy! I was hesitant to change my traditional "just key lime pie" recipe, but I was in the mood for more of a cheesecake. This was wonderful!!!! However, I added 1 can sweetened cond. milk and went ahead and used all three packs of cream cheese. My family loved it. I used Williams Sonoma key lime juice! Why squeeze limes when you can just buy them? Not too limey. I zested one regular time too! Served with lite Cool Whip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2004
i loved this cheesecake! for some reason i have a thing for lime cheesecake, and this is the best recipe i've found yet. i added in lime zest, and used regular limes. it had a lovely lime taste, not too bitter. this is the one i'll make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: South Bend, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2004
I am a huge cheesecake fan! I've never had a key lime cheesecake before so when a friend of mine asked me to bake one, I turned to my source, All Recipes. Yet again, they did not let me down. This was very easy to bake. The only thing that I did differently, was I added coconut to the crust and used 1/4c of sweetened lime juice instead of the amount listed. Based on the previous reviews, I too thought that it would be too much lime juice, and coconut added a little twist to the crust. It was a success! My friend took it to his job and it was used as a birthday cake for a co-worker who loves key lime and from what I heard, there wasn't a slice left! I would definately make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rosedale, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2003
My 13 year old made this recipe for her father's birthday. She took the advice of other reviewers and cut back on the key lime juice to 1/2 c. The cake turned out great. Light, creamy and very flavorful. She frosted it with whip cream and added a little lime zest. The cake had just the right amount of tartness. Also, she did make this a day ahead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Key Lime Pie VII

Use fresh key lime juice if you can, as it adds the biggest flavor.

Easy Key Lime Pie I

See how to make a quick-and-easy, award-winning key lime pie.

How to Make Cheesecake

See how to make a classic cheesecake in five easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States