Key Lime Cheesecake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
FOOLPROOF CHEESECAKE!! Here's what I did: Added three 8oz boxes of cream cheese; 1/3 cup of keylime juice; and 4 eggs. I also used a store-bought shortbread pie crust. It turned out wonderful! Not too tart. The perfect balance of cream cheese and keylime! I highly reccomend this to all. I call it fool proof because after it was devoured, the next morning I found the 1/2 stick of butter still in the micro... Ha! I forgot to add it but you wouldn't even of noticed! Great flavor and texture! Thanks so much for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AliShaluvsfood

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Culleoka, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2008
I made this for a dessert party and it was the hit of the party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bay Shore, New York, USA
Living In: Hudson, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2008
Very good and refreshing for a summer BBQ! I too did 3 packages cream cheese, 4 eggs, upped the sugar to 1 C and did 1/2 cup key lime juice with about a teaspoon of zest. Instead of a graham cracker crust I processed about 2/3 of a package of vanilla Joe Joe's (the Trader Joe's brand oreos without the hydrogenated oils) and it was soooo good! Perfect crust! No butter needed because of the cream filling in the cookies. Try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KatieJL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Darnestown, Maryland, USA
Living In: Frederick, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
Fabulous recipe! This was only the 2nd cheesecake I've made and it came out perfectly - no cracks at all! I did modify the original recipe as other suggested...adding 4 Tablespoons of coconut to the crust, and then adding an extra egg & 3 packages of cream cheese. I started with 1/2 cup of bottled key lime juice and found it wasn't tart enough, so I did add the entire 3/4 cup of juice. The texture of the cheesecake was great and I had comments that it tasted better than the Cheesecake Factory version!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2007
I made this cheesecake for Thanksgiving. It was just great. The texture was creamy but you could cut pieces and serve them without the whole thing collapsing. Changes: For the crust I did use 5 tablespoons of butter. For the filling: I used 3 boxes of cream cheese, about a 1/2 cup of key lime juice (I tasted it at 1/4 cup and it just wasn't "limey" enough), and about a 1/3 cup powdered sugar too. I used 2 drops of green food coloring that gave the finished product a lovely color - just be sure to mix very well or you will have green stripes! Did not bother with the hot water bath. It turned out just fine, with two very minor cracks. I will be making this again for Christmas and I may try the coconut as others have suggested. I'll let you know how that works out. Thanks again for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna Mae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Poughkeepsie, New York, USA
Living In: Highland, New York, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2007
Follow the tips from other cooks - 3 pckgs Cream Cheese, 4 eggs, 1/4 cup key lime juice, and advice for taking it out - it will prove to be the most delicious and easy cheese cake you've EVER made! I also found that it tasted best 24 hours later, the texture was the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2007
I wish I'd payed closer attention to the previous reviews, as I usually do. I didn't have key limes, so used regular limes, and I used 3/4 cup following the recipe - made for an extremely tart cheesecake. Probably will make again, but will use less lime juice, and more sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2007
This cheesecake was excellent and loved by everyone!! Make the following changes and it will taste wonderful with no cracks. For the crust increase melted butter to 6T and add 4 T coconut. Cake: Use 3- 8oz cream cheeses, 4 eggs and 2/3 c. lime juice. I used Rose's sweetened lime juice, avail. in the cocktail isles of grocery stores. Add 2 drops of blue food coloring to give a lime green color. Bake cheese cake in a hot water bath (put cake in larger pan and add boiling water to larger pan before baking). After 50 min.of baking, open oven door and allow to cool in oven. Chill overnight. Garnish with 8 oz. cool whip, grated lime rind and thin slices of lime. This looked beautiful and tasted even better!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2007
I made it with the suggested changes and it was terrific! (I'm sure it would have been fine the original way, too.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2007
I followed the alterations using 1/3 cup of lime juice and the extra cream cheese--this was just perfect and delicious. I skipped the water bath and it did crack a little when I took it out of the oven. I'd recommend just letting it sit for an hour in the oven to cool and set a little after it's done baking. Don't even open the door for an hour, it's still quite jiggly. Taste and texture could not be better though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Key Lime Pie VII

Use fresh key lime juice if you can, as it adds the biggest flavor.

Easy Key Lime Pie I

See how to make a quick-and-easy, award-winning key lime pie.

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States