Key Lime Cheesecake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
This was an awesome cheesecake! Thanks to everyone who reviewed this before I baked it - I made the changes as suggested and it turned out great. I used 3 pkgs cream cheese, 1/2 cup of lime juice (Nellie & Joe's), 4 eggs, and a little more than the 1 tsp of vanilla. I also used 5 tbsp of butter for the crust as well. I also used the suggestion of baking the cheesecake with a shallow pan of water on the rack below it. This prevented my cheesecake from getting any cracks when baking and it looked great! I topped with whipped cream and decorated with sliced key limes. Would definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jess Klug

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
This cheese cake is really great...the reason I gave it 2 stars is for extreme tartness. I used real Key Limes in 1 cake and added 1& 1/2 cups of sugar. The batter tasted OK.After baking...way too tart for company. I happen to love Tartness. I tried again with bottled Key Lime juice and added 2&1/4 cups of sugar...a little better, but not much.Could not serve company. Also the 10" spring form pan it WAY to big...8" is much better. Pan was so big it dried out the cake. Also 3/4 cup butter is better in the crust. And it is a MUST that a large pan of water be put under the cake as it bakes or cake will crack. Also you need to seal the bottom of the pan with tightly wrapped tinfoil or it will leak all over. You can also put the cake pan "in" the pan of water or "water bath" if you wish. I really don't think I will make this cake again. Like I said..I love tart but not very many other people do and it just is way to tart to serve to company to take to a party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
This recipe had to much lime juice or needs more sugar. I used fresh key limes. Just a bit to sour for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
I made this cheesecake for Easter, following the recipe exactly. I felt this was way too sour. Everyone who tried it said it was very good, they enjoyed the sour taste, but I felt it was way too overpowering. I enjoy lemon squares, key lime pie, so I am not one who dislikes tart desserts. However, this one was way over the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Frankfort, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
CUT DOWN THE LIME JUICE. I made this recipe for a customer. She was so dissatisfied! I did not add the juice a little a time. I added the whole3/4 of a cup.The lime was over whelming.She asked if it was supose to be Key lime Pie. I have made Key lime cheese cake before I will use my recipe which has 1/4 cup of juice and 1 table spoon of rind.If I want more lime flavor I add it a little at a time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Drae
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
I would use about 1/2 cup of key lime next time... It was VERY good but a little to tart for my tastes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
This was Amazing !!!! I used 3 pkgs cream cheese and 1/3 cup key lime juice. I also added a about 2 tblsp of finely minced pecans to the crust. It was the perfect key lime taste ! Thanks for the recipe, this ones a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheeks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 18, 2010
I had seen some comments that the recipe did not yield a full-bodied cheesecake, so I substituted one 14 oz. can of sweetened condensed milk for the cup of sour cream. I also did not add the full amount of key lime juice - I used about 2/3 cup plus added fresh lime zest. I followed the recommendation to use three 8 oz packages of cream cheese and 4 eggs. It was superb. My most excellent husband juiced about 20 tiny key limes for the double recipe we made and it was well worth the effort. Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2010
It was soooooo yummy! I substituted the key limes for regular limes, and a little of bottled lime juice to suppliment what extra I might need. My family LOVED IT! It was a nice light and refreshing finish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
I did opt to use 3 bricks of cream cheese and add an egg as the others mentioned. I didn't however decrease the juice (I used Nellie and Joes key lime juice) and personally found this very tart. It is however a solid recipie if you tweak the tartness to your liking. It bakes up very creamy and does not brown. Next time I will definitely use less juice for my own personal liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Key Lime Pie VII

Use fresh key lime juice if you can, as it adds the biggest flavor.

Easy Key Lime Pie I

See how to make a quick-and-easy, award-winning key lime pie.

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States