Key Lime Cheesecake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
I can't imagine what went wrong. I followed the directions exactly as written. After 45 minutes the top of the cheesecake was burnt-dark brown, cracked and puffy. I am famous for making cheesecakes in my family and have made many, but this one was a diasaster. I let it set overnight and the next day when I cut into it, it was runny I though that maybe my oven was off so I tried a regular flavored cheesecake and it came out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
This was my first time making cheese cake and it turned out wonderful! I was going to use my Aunt's recipe for key lime cheesecake but found out I didn't have sweetened condensed milk and not wanting to run to the grocery store, I decided to find one that has ingredients I already had in my kitchen. I did add a bit of sugar to the crust to make it sweeter and I actually spent my time juicing key limes but it was well worth it! but I think next time I won't use quite so much juice as it is quite tart and I'd like it a bit sweeter. that being said, I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
I LOVED this cheesecake. I got a hankering to make a "Margarita" cheesecake after having one at a cafe while on Jury Duty. This was as close to it as possible. It wasn't as "limey" as I wanted it. I added more lime juice and some tequila. But the taste, texture, and moistness was just right. I will definitely use this as my base cheesecake recipe and experiment with amount of lime, or other flavors. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RouxZQ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Bruno, California, USA
Living In: Valencia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tracy Ann
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
Make this pie the night before so that the favor and texture can "set". For a low-fat diet, I cheated and used a Keebler Low-Fat Graham Cracker Crust and low-Fat cream cheese. The filling was enough to fill 2 crusts. I froze one pie, but the first one was so good, the second one will be thawed and eaten sooner than I thought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy Ann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
Most excellent, right amount of lime. Added green food coloring, gluten free graham crust
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2010
This was very different. At first I didnt like it but then I wanted more and more. I actually ended up eating the whole chessecake by myself.Then two days later I really wanted more. It was really limey and hand a nice texture, but it did take a really long time get the juice out of a whole bag of limes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tahmee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Catlin
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
This was the first cheesecake I had attempted to make. And, it turned out perfectly! I added an extra 4 ounces of cream cheese and used bottled key lime juice. I didn't find this to be overly tart, but I love tart things. 65 minutes was perfect baking time. Make sure to use a water bath, I think it definitely makes all the difference! This cheesecake turned out so creamy and just oh so good! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catlin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mcpherson, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
We all loved it! I couldn't squeeze out quite enough key lime juice, so I used a little bit of lemon juice. I will make this again. Great for a summertime dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2010
This has great flavor and was easy to make. I love to cook and bake but this was the first cheesecake I have ever made but it won't be the last. I used one of the other reviewers advice and used 1/3 c. key lime juice and 1/3 c. fresh squeezed lemon juice. I cooked mine for 65 minutes and it wasn't quite done in the center ( I think my oven is off a bit) but that didn't stop us from eating it! I used a muffin tin half filled with water below my pan and my cheesecake did not crack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
Wonderful cheesecake and much better than those made with condensed milk (to us there is just no comparison.) Unfortunately I could not find key limes so had to settle for regular which probably makes a difference to the taste. Anyway, as soon as key limes show up again on our shelves I will make another.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 258) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Key Lime Pie VII

Use fresh key lime juice if you can, as it adds the biggest flavor.

Easy Key Lime Pie I

See how to make a quick-and-easy, award-winning key lime pie.

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States