Key Lime Cheesecake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
This was great. I went the lazy route and used a store-bought graham cracker crust. Still turned out delicious. I used 24 oz (3 bricks) of cream cheese as the recipe calls for rather than 4 like many reviewers suggest. I thought it was the perfect amount - and actually the filling was even a bit too much for the crust. I probably should have bought the deep dish graham cracker crust. The only change I made to the recipe was 1/2 cup of lime juice rather than 2/3 cup. Either probably would have been fine. The lime flavor is pretty faint the first day or two but gets stronger after it sits in the fridge for a few days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2011
Must be for hard-core key lime lovers, which apparently my husband and I are not. Very tart, not like any cheesecake I've ever had. But if you do think this is still up your alley, I've got a great "cheat" idea for juicing the key limes as a wrist injury made me get a bit more creative: cut in half as usual, but put in a GARLIC PRESS!!! Seemed so much easier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2011
GREAT recipe! I used the tip of combining lemon/lime juice. It was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2011
If you are truly a lover of key lime, this cheesecake is perfect! I found the ratio of sugar to key lime juice to be just right…it was tart and tangy with just enough sweetness. The only thing I changed was adding two whole eggs and one yolk (instead of the 3 eggs called for) to the batter. I also substituted ½ cup of almonds instead of using all graham crackers for the crust. Finally, I wrapped the spring form pan in aluminum foil and baked the cheesecake in a water bath. It came out perfectly creamy without the slightest indication of a crack!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
I made this for a dinner party and it has a hit. I halved the recipe and made it in two tartlet pans. I followed the suggestions of JAMYEARN and used condensed milk instead of eggs, four, cornstarch, and sugar. I also added coconut flakes to the the curst. I topped both of the mini cheesecakes with whip cream and raspberry sauce. The raspberry sauce went great with the lime flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mcalester, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Munich, Bayern, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
Made it with 1/3 key lime juice and 1/3 lemon. Served with nothing: no whipped cream. Think pie would be better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
this was to limey!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
I loved this cheesecake! I used the full amount of keylime juice listed in the recipe and it was perfect. Any less and you wouldn't get the full keylime flavor. I used a prepackaged graham crust to save time/energy and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrs_tbull

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
A great recipe as is. If you don't like tart you don't like Key Lime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newcastle, Maine, USA
Living In: Portland, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
I took the time to juice the key limes and zest, expecting an awesome cheesecake. This was not it. I tasted the batter and it was so tart, it didn't even taste like a dessert. I added more sugar and used sugar in the crust. I baked it longer than stated and after sitting in the fridge overnight, it was not set. We tried it, but it was not all eaten. By far the worst dessert I have ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKINWIFEANDMOM

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Dickinson, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 268) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Key Lime Pie VII

Use fresh key lime juice if you can, as it adds the biggest flavor.

Easy Key Lime Pie I

See how to make a quick-and-easy, award-winning key lime pie.

How to Make Cheesecake

See how to make a classic cheesecake in five easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States