Key Lime Cheesecake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
Very good but if you use a standard 9 inch store bought graham crust, cut the recipe down by 1/3 (except the lime juice, which I keep the full amount because I like the stronger lime flavor). We also use 1/2 sugar and 1/2 splenda and it works fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
This was a very tasty cheesecake; creamy with a nice balance of tart and sweet. It is quite heavy but the lime makes it seem less heavy. Others had suggested adding an additional egg and more sugar. Instead I used 4 bricks of cream cheese, the same number of eggs (3), and a can of condensed milk. Another cheesecake recipe I use calls for that and I know it is often used in Key Lime Pie. The results were very positive. I would make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
My husband really likes key lime cheesecake and so I decided to make if as a dessert for Christmas family dinner. I was so happy with how it looked, but my husband said are you sure you want to take it for everyone to try seeing as this was your first time. I was hesitant but I agreed to not take it and was happy that I didn't. I was so happy that I did not serve it. We both tried it when we got home and it seemed great until we got the bite of the very tart aftertaste. It was way too much Key lime juice which made it almost impossible to eat (unless you like that overwhelming tart taste). I made it two days later and decreased the amount of key lime juice to a little over 1/4 cup, used 3/4 tablespoon of zest and added 1/4 cup more of sugar. It came out perfect. A part from the few changes I made, this recipe is a keeper and is officially a family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
Added the extra 8oz of cream cheese as some had suggested but otherwise left the recipe as is...loved it. Also used it as the basis for my own experiment. I substitued tangerine for lime and vanilla wafers for graham cracker to create a cheesecake with flavors reminiscent of those orange creamsicles I loved so much as a child
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
I had to substitute lemon peel for the lime zest, but it still tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
I followed the suggestions of one of the reviewers and increased 3 of the ingredients, namely: 32 oz of cream cheese, 1 1/4 c sugar and 4 eggs. Then instead of 2/3 c key lime juice, I used 1/3 c key lime and 1/3 c lemon juice. It was to die for! I've served it to guests twice and both times, heard lots of "mmmmm's" and exclamations about how creamy and light and fluffy it was. Outstanding dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ardys

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Spring Grove, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Duluth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
It was so good the kids did not wait till I had chilled it a day before eating more than half of it. I doubled the graham crackers to get a thicker crust and mixed in a little lemon juice as suggested by other readers. The taste is just nice and takes away the heaviness of typical cheesecake, so this is the new default recipe for our family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
This is a great recipe and very easy to make. It is always well received by the adults, but some kids find it to be a bit too tart. Regardless, because it's so easy to make, I make it often! I've probably made this 10-12 times over the last couple of years. One change that I make, because I rarely have limes in the house when I make it, is that I leave out the zest and add few drops of food coloring to give it a green'ish hue.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
made this with splenda, we thought it was a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cushing, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Iola, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ddysgal
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
Wonderfully delicious cheesecake. Just enough sweetness to balance out the "tang." I have given this cheesecake out as gifts, and have also entered it in a baking competition and won first place! This is a must try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ddysgal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 265) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Key Lime Pie VII

Use fresh key lime juice if you can, as it adds the biggest flavor.

Easy Key Lime Pie I

See how to make a quick-and-easy, award-winning key lime pie.

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States