Key Lime Cheesecake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2005
This recipe was a hit. I did change it quite a bit as I am a huge cook so I tend to do that. I wanted a bit taller cheesecake so I add 8 oz more cream cheese. Instead of the sugar, eggs and flour, I used a can of sweetened condensed milk. I cut the lime juice to 1/2 cup as the other reviews said it was a bit tart. I also put a thin layer of whip cream made with heavy whipping cream and sugar just to add a little something. I decorated it with slices of lime. I made it for a Christmas party so everyone was glad to not have the traditional stuff they were having at every other party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
270 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ALLICAT2U
Reviewed: May 31, 2006
EXCELLENT... with these revisions! Make crust as described. Use 32 oz cream cheese (4 bricks) 1 1/4 C. sugar, 1 T. cornstarch, 4 eggs, 1 T. lime zest. Here's the key - 1/3 C. lime juice, 1/3 C. lemon juice. Absolutely delicious. Top with a pint of heavy cream whipped with a couple of tablespoons of sugar. Garnish with lime zest and lime slices. It's even better after it's been in the fridge for a day! YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
259 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALLICAT2U

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Overland Park, Kansas, USA
Living In: Independence, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2003
I made this cheescake for my brothers birthday party and everyone FLIPPED for it! I added a few tablespoons of shredded coconut to the crust and it went over big! I took the suggestions to bake the cake a little longer and that worked well. After the cake was done baking I left the oven door open a bit, to make sure it was completely cooled before taking it out and I didn't have any cracking. I will be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
167 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2009
GREAT RECIPE !!! BUT, I MUST ASK, WHY do people change about 5 or 6 things in a recipe & then say "This is a 5 STAR recipe" ???? I say, either make the recipe as written or don't rate it !!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Burlington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2002
If you like Key Lime Pie, you'll enjoy this, but you must love limes - this is VERY "limey"!! I used bottled real key lime juice. Mine cracked even though I followed the directions and placed a shallow pan of hot water on the lower rack. Very rich. I served mine plain (without whipped cream), and myself and a few others noted that it really needs whipped cream on top to help "soften" the strong lime flavor. This is a keeper, esp. for summertime entertaining.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2003
Delicious and easy. Also works well in a prepared 9" graham crust if you don't want to bother with the springform.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2002
The recipe was easy to follow. I would use a little less lime juice next time. I put a pan of water in the oven while cooking and my cheesecake did not crack. However, it cracked like the Grand Canyon after I put it in the refrigerator. Any suggestions??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2004
The thing to keep in mind with this cake is that the key lime juice makes it very tart, but does not have a strong 'lime' taste. The lime flavor comes from the zest. I followed the directions for the filling, and found that it was very tart, but I could not identify a strong lime flavor. In the future, I think I would cut down slightly on the juice, but add a little bit more zest. That way it will be good and limey, but won't make me pucker with each bite! For the crust, I added 1/4 c. sugar, and I baked it for 6 min. at 375 before adding the filling. I like a crispier crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2003
One word for this cheesecake.....AWESOME!!! My boyfriend bugs me to death to make him cheesecakes so I surprised him by making this one for dessert tonight! Not only was HE pleased, but I just snuck a second piece and had to come online to write this review. Made one tiny little alteration however...I used Coconut Bar cookie crumbs and added 3 Tbsp. of shredded coconut for the crust. Using Key Lime juice is absolutely necessary. You can buy it by the bottle in most grocery stores so you don't have to crack knuckles juicing key limes. Took the advice of a previous review also and instead of chilling in the refrigerator, put it in the freezer and it was nice and cool when I served it. No doubt.....this cheesecake is FAN-TAB-U-LOUS!! You won't be sorry if you choose to make this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Smyrna, Georgia, USA
Living In: Powder Springs, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2002
This is a delicious recipe! I prefer straight cream cheese cheese cakes and this one did not disappoint! If you love key lime pie and you love cheese cake, you have to make this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 261) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Key Lime Pie VII

Use fresh key lime juice if you can, as it adds the biggest flavor.

Easy Key Lime Pie I

See how to make a quick-and-easy, award-winning key lime pie.

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States