Key Lime Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
i was very disappointed. i have a cake that i make that has the exact same ingredients except that mine calls for lime flavored pudding and not gelatin. my cake did not rise and the texture was grainy. could there be a mistake in the ingredients?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
This is one of the best cakes I have ever made or eaten!! Thank you Judy for the recipe! I didn't have Key Lime juice nor did my grocer carry it (???) so I just used regular lime juice and it was awesome! I made it for the 1st time this past weekend for a family get-together. It was gone which meant I had nothing to take home to eat as a snack :( but everyone raved about it. I replaced all of the oil with applesauce and it was excellent - moist, rich - just like cake should be. Thankfully, I have all of the ingredients in my cupboard and plan to make another one for my family (and me) tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portage, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Randolph, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
i substituted all the oil for applesauce, egg beaters, sugar free jello,and fat free cream cheese and it STILL came out amazing! so moist and delicious! the frosting was a little runny, but when it soaked into the cake it just added to the flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
I haven't made this cake yet just wondering if the serving size is incorrect. 30 servings seems like a lot for using only one box of cake mix yielding an 8" triple layer cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Red Hat Milli

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Torrance, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LYNNINMA
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
Made this cake for my sister's birthday yesterday. She deemed it great with a very limey/citrusy flavor. I thought it a very easy recipe. I did, however, need to add a bit more confectioner's sugar (about 1/2 c.). Assembled beautifully. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNINMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Leicester, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
Although the cake turned out the right color, when we put the second layer on top of the first layer, it crumbled into a heap. The cake was very moist but this caused it to deconstruct. We loved the icing flavor but the cake tasted a bit like fruity pebbles; still delicious but not what you usually want a cake to taste like. Would suggest adding a bit of meringue powder to the frosting to help it set more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
I didn't try to make the cake, because I am not a fan of orange juice... So I found another recipe for that. However, I made the frosting for this because it seemed so unique to me. Boy am I glad I did! The frosting is fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2011
I haven't made this cake, but my mother-in-law did and it was delicious! She made it for a birthday party and everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2011
The only thing I did differently to this recipe was add the zest of the lime to the frosting. I made this into cupcakes for my son to take to school for his birthday. Two of the kids raved about these so much that their mothers called me for the recipe. These will definately be made again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2011
I was really excited to try this cake because I love key lime pie.. but I did not care for this cake. It turns out a pretty green color, but it didn't taste anywhere near key lime pie, my husband loved it though. I won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by a.granados

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palm Harbor, Florida, USA
Living In: Palmetto, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 197) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Key Lime Pie VII

Use fresh key lime juice if you can, as it adds the biggest flavor.

Easy Key Lime Pie I

See how to make a quick-and-easy, award-winning key lime pie.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States