Key Lime Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
I made this for my 12 year old niece Birthday today, changed oil to 1 cup and substitued the 1/3 with key lime juice, cake was flat and solid not fluffy at all. 1/2 inch thick. Taste is ok but I would go by the box directions and substitute the water for orange juice and key lime juice and maybe it will turn out ok had to add more lime juice to the frosting as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
5 star recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
Thie was a great cake. Very moist with lots of flavoe!!! I made lime curd for the center that added a wow factor. Frosting very good. Thank u for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
I didn't use orange juice, just water like the box sad. I did however, added a lot of lime zest. And it still came out tasting very lime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debra Marie Sweet Pea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Redding, California, USA
Photo by zhou
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
Oh, so GOOD! Made this for my husband's b-day and it was a HUGE HIT!! All my friends who came to his b-day party loved it including me! I was so pleased with this recipe. AWESOME!! Wouldn't change a thing.:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zhou

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
I have made this over and over(followed the recipe to the T), and get tremendous praises every time! It's so refreshing and surprising, because this is not a cake that you would normally serve, I like the WOW factor of having something different and GOOD!! Thanks for sharing Judy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
This cake is the bomb..... I've carried it a many places and have so many friends and family calling and asking if i could bake one for them.... This is definitely a hit.... I'm actually baking one right now...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
i was very disappointed. i have a cake that i make that has the exact same ingredients except that mine calls for lime flavored pudding and not gelatin. my cake did not rise and the texture was grainy. could there be a mistake in the ingredients?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
This is one of the best cakes I have ever made or eaten!! Thank you Judy for the recipe! I didn't have Key Lime juice nor did my grocer carry it (???) so I just used regular lime juice and it was awesome! I made it for the 1st time this past weekend for a family get-together. It was gone which meant I had nothing to take home to eat as a snack :( but everyone raved about it. I replaced all of the oil with applesauce and it was excellent - moist, rich - just like cake should be. Thankfully, I have all of the ingredients in my cupboard and plan to make another one for my family (and me) tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portage, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Randolph, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
i substituted all the oil for applesauce, egg beaters, sugar free jello,and fat free cream cheese and it STILL came out amazing! so moist and delicious! the frosting was a little runny, but when it soaked into the cake it just added to the flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 194) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Key Lime Pie VII

Use fresh key lime juice if you can, as it adds the biggest flavor.

Easy Key Lime Pie I

See how to make a quick-and-easy, award-winning key lime pie.

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States