Key Lime Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 25, 2012
D E L I C I O U S! It wouldn't have been any better unless it was also healthy. Guess you can't have everything. I used only 3 cups powdered sugar in the icing- plenty sweet! Any more and the frosting would have been less cream cheese and lime and more powdered sugar taste. I also added about 2 tsp lime zest to the frosting and another bit on top for garnish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dizziepixie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2012
AMAZING cake, a great twist on a classic. Of course there area couple ways to healthy it up, and the frosting might be a bit on the sweet side. But it still has the tangy kick and is an incredible texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
I MADE THIS CAKE AND LOVED IT EVERYONE THOUGHT IT WAS AMAZING ESP THE ICING I ADDED WALNUTS AND IT WAS AWESOME!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
Didn't do 5 stars, because I have had to work to perfect it. So, here are my changes. Instead of Orange Juice, I do 3/4c LimeAid + 1/4c Key Lime Juice. I only do 3/4c oil. For the lime Jello, I used the sugar free variety (there is already enough sugar in the cake & icing, so you wont miss it). Prior to making these changes, it kept falling on me (I think mostly because of the added oil), and it had an odd texture. An OK one, but odd. And, it was a little too sweet for me, which is saying something, because I like my sweets :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by azeventdiva

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
I always make cakes from scratch and haven't bought a box of cake mix since I was like 13 years old. That said, I wanted something festively-colored for Easter and didn't have hardly any time to make desserts since all my time was spent preparing the meal. I tried this recipe and it was pretty decent. It was almost too tender / moist as the slices would almost fall apart if you weren't careful and I had a helluva time trying to get the cake to come out of the pans (and that's WITH greasing and flouring)....the bottom layer ended up totally falling apart and I had to make more icing to patch it back together, but luckily no one could tell by the time I was done. I'd only make this (or any cake mix based recipe) again under unusual circumstances, but aside from the issue with it being too delicate, it was decent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShawnsChef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Covington, Georgia, USA
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
This cake is so easy and one of my favorites! Very moist and delicious. I usually have cake left and have to throw away, however when I bake this cake, there is never any left.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dazndlishus

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
This cake was OK....I think there is WAY too much oil used for this recipe....1 AND 1/3 cups?!?!? Made for a very moist cake, but you can almost taste the vegetable oil. I used whipped cream for the frosting. A cream cheese/butter frosting would have made for a big grease ball in your mouth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arcadia, Iowa, USA
Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2012
This cake is very moist and delicious. It is a crowd pleaser! Rulindap NC
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
It seemed like there was way too much oil in it. It didn't hold together well and when you touched it, you had oil on your finger. I thought 1 1/3 cup was rather a large amount, and it was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
I prefer "made from scratch" cakes but this cake is scrumptious! Very moist. I recommend refrigerating because it firms the icing. Also, I recommend baking the cake in less time than preferred on the cake mix box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 189) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Key Lime Pie VII

Use fresh key lime juice if you can, as it adds the biggest flavor.

Easy Key Lime Pie I

See how to make a quick-and-easy, award-winning key lime pie.

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States