Key Lime Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 8, 2013
A lady I work with brought this cake in and it was SO good! I go to a local bakery just to get the key lime cup cakes and now I can just make this instead of paying a arm and a leg for one cupcake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
I made the cupcake version for a potluck at work on St. Patrick's day. Not only did everyone at the office compliment the cupcakes, but the extras that I have in a tupperware container are still moist and yummy a week later! I will be making this again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erica A.

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2013
Delicious. As other reviews have stated it is better with less oil. I used 1/2 cup of oil and 1/2 cup of applesauce. I have made it both ways and it is much better with the oil and applesauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
I'm a guy who had always wanted to take up making cakes as a hobby. I had heard of key lime pie but never cake. A lady at my workplace makes folks cakes for their birthday and once someone requested key-lime cake. I loved it and mentioned to my wife I'd like to try and make one so she found me this simple recipe. I made my first one at Christmas this year and then another one last weekend. My family goes through them quickly and I'm about to make yet another one. They are a huge hit and I'm getting better with my icing skills with each successive try. There does seem to be a lot of oil in this cake compared to the stock box cake mix directions but I haven't been brave enough to make alterations to the recipe yet. I just know this recipe is making me look good and I'm just a beginner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
This has been my oldest son's birthday cake for the past 2 yrs and it is always requested at my husband's Christmas party. The one change is I cut on the oil a tad and substitute applesauce. Great recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chefbecca

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
I made this cake for my family & co-workers and everybody loved it... My co-workers are now paying me to make this cake for them.... My wife will go out and buy the ingredients(without me knowing it) and tell me to make this cake... This cake is great and I'm loving it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
This is a great cake, my family loves it. I also made a delicious Strawberry cake with this recipe, substituting lemon cake mix with strawberry and lime gelatin with strawberry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
As the author said - this cake is very moist. I noticed the negative reviews complaining that the author did not tell them to grease the pan, but she did say bake according to the instructions on the box mix, which tells you to grease and flour the pan. It seemed that the cake needed to be cooked a lot longer than it would if made as instructed on the box, so you'll have to keep checking on it until a toothpick comes out clean. I thought the lime juice made the icing too runny and I would recommend using a little more powdered sugar to thicken. Otherwise, easy recipe and served the purpose I needed it for. I was out of OJ, so I zested and juiced a lime and then added water to make the 6 oz called for in the recipe - made a great substitute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
Made as is and was very moist! Great flavor. Icing was a little runny, so I had to put it in the refrigerator to harden some. I used 9 key limes to make the 3 tbsp of juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by chaddy422
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
Great Recipe, I followed the 1/2 cup of veg oil and 1/2 cup of apple sauce. It was moist and delicious. Made my own frosting from the Wilton website.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 202) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Key Lime Pie VII

Use fresh key lime juice if you can, as it adds the biggest flavor.

Easy Key Lime Pie I

See how to make a quick-and-easy, award-winning key lime pie.

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States