Key Lime Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
I tried the recipe it was too oily tasting for me. So i decided to do 5 eggs instead of 4 and 3/4c of oil instead of 1 3/4 c. It was much better.. For the frosting i did the cream cheese icing and 3 cups of confections sugar..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
Amazing! This cake is so delicious and super moist. It is pretty dense so one cake will go a long way. The only thing I think I will change next time is to add more lime juice and maybe less orange juice to give it a stronger flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MrsFisher0729
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
I played around with the measurements for the liquids since the oil amount seemed high for what is typically called for in a cake mix. I used 1/2 c. oil, 3/4 water and 1/2 cup lime juice (instead of OJ). Cake had a wonderful tart bite and people loved it! I did not make the frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2013
My family went wild over this Key Lime Cake, it was soooo gooood! I give 5 stars
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by David Turner

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2013
Moist, delectable cake -- everyone in our circle loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2013
A lady I work with brought this cake in and it was SO good! I go to a local bakery just to get the key lime cup cakes and now I can just make this instead of paying a arm and a leg for one cupcake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
I made the cupcake version for a potluck at work on St. Patrick's day. Not only did everyone at the office compliment the cupcakes, but the extras that I have in a tupperware container are still moist and yummy a week later! I will be making this again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erica A.

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2013
Delicious. As other reviews have stated it is better with less oil. I used 1/2 cup of oil and 1/2 cup of applesauce. I have made it both ways and it is much better with the oil and applesauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
I'm a guy who had always wanted to take up making cakes as a hobby. I had heard of key lime pie but never cake. A lady at my workplace makes folks cakes for their birthday and once someone requested key-lime cake. I loved it and mentioned to my wife I'd like to try and make one so she found me this simple recipe. I made my first one at Christmas this year and then another one last weekend. My family goes through them quickly and I'm about to make yet another one. They are a huge hit and I'm getting better with my icing skills with each successive try. There does seem to be a lot of oil in this cake compared to the stock box cake mix directions but I haven't been brave enough to make alterations to the recipe yet. I just know this recipe is making me look good and I'm just a beginner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
This has been my oldest son's birthday cake for the past 2 yrs and it is always requested at my husband's Christmas party. The one change is I cut on the oil a tad and substitute applesauce. Great recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chefbecca

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 197) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Key Lime Pie VII

Use fresh key lime juice if you can, as it adds the biggest flavor.

Easy Key Lime Pie I

See how to make a quick-and-easy, award-winning key lime pie.

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States