Key Lime Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
A great, easy-to-make cake! Note: we'd consider doubling the recipe for taller/more layers. It's a pretty short cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
Excellent! This recipe for key lime cake exceeded my expectations. It was very easy to make and required few ingredients. Very delicious: My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AnneT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
I made this cake for the first time for Christmas. It was a huge hit for my extended family potluck dinner. It was moist and just the right sweet and tart. The only recommendation (provided to me from my nephew who happens to be a chef) is to use 2 tablespoons of lime juice for the icing to make it a little more stiff for spreading. My icing was a tad bit runny with the 3 tbsps. I'm making it again really soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
Person/author who submitted this recipe neglected to note in the directions that cake mix to be pour into GREASED pans! This absolutely ruined the cake, not to mention the money spent on the ingredients, and time wasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mare

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walnutport, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Druwine
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
I was looking for a recipe to make a key lime cake from scratch but could only find cake mix recipes. Nonetheless, this turned out pretty well. As other users suggested, I used 5 eggs instead of 4, reduced the oil to 3/4 cups, and I substituted concentrated key lime juice for the orange juice with a little lime zest added. I also paired the cake with the Cream Cheese Frosting II recipe from this site with walnuts mixed in. Overall, everyone loved it! Next time, I will probably try this recipe with white cake mix as the lemon flavor was somewhat dominant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2009
This looked and tasted like Fruit Loops. I made it this past weekend for a friend's party. I rushed to prepare something else to take. It was very moist, though. But thats only b/c of ALL the oil. I would not recommend this cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doc's Wife 07

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by nrgizrbune41
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2009
This was yummy. I'm giving it 4 stars because I could taste the orange in the cake. I would have preferred all lime flavor. I will make again and omit the orange juice and use lime juice. This was moist. What made it great was a fresh blueberry topping. I did use the cream cheese frosting on the sides and as a fence to keep the berries on the top of the cake. I cooked corn starch, sugar and water; boiled 1 min. and stirred in 2 c. blueberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nrgizrbune41

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Western, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2009
Great flavor and very moist. The 2 layer is hard to keep from faling apart but the bundt pan was great. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
This cake was okay. I made some modifications. I used white cake instead of lemon because I hate the flavor of lemon cake. I replaced half the orange juice with key lime juice. I made a glaze of key lime juice, sugar, and butter that poured onto the warm bundt out of the oven. It set into the cake and made it very moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Midland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
I had this at a friends Margarita Spa Party and it was great. I made it when I had my family over and now it is a request that I make it whenever we have family get-togethers. It is a must try. It is very sweet and I usually don't use too much of the icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by punkin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 202) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Key Lime Pie VII

Use fresh key lime juice if you can, as it adds the biggest flavor.

Easy Key Lime Pie I

See how to make a quick-and-easy, award-winning key lime pie.

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States