Key Lime Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
Well i ran out of orange juice, so i used lemonade instead, which turned out great! The only problem that i see with this recipe, is that it didn't rise as much as i thought it would. So if you're making cupcakes, make sure to fill the cups nearly all the way full. If you only fill them about two thirds full, they wont rise much higher than the top of the paper baking cups. Oh, and this recipe makes A LOT of cupcakes, count on about 2 1/2 dozen or so. great for parties :]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
This cake is absolutely delicious! I made it in 2 layers because sometimes the 3 layer cakes, to me, lose a lot of the cake taste to mostly the icing. That being said, the icing was super rich so I would recommend only using the amount the recipe calls for. Don't double! I made this for a 4th of July cookout and it was the hit! People who normally don't have seconds had seconds. Its been requested again so I thought I'd do it justice and leave a review. TRY THIS CAKE :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
The flavor of this cake is great, but I don't think the liquid measurements are correct. 1 1/3 c. oil and 4 eggs makes the batter very thin. My cakes fell apart as I tried to frost them and I had to make it as a trifle. Also, the frosting should be doubled if you hope to cover the whole cake. Like, I said, the flavor is great, but I would definitely lower the amount of oil and/or eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
Just needs more lime flavor & I'd review higher. Boxed cake is boxed cake though so don't hold your expectations too high. The frosting was TERRIFIC as you can lime it up to your liking w/ the juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommymeggy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
This was the best cake I ever made. It was very moist. I gave my family a piece of it and they were all begging for more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cassandra

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milledgeville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
I took this cake to a family reunion and it was gone in a hurry. My daughters laughed at the color of it, but loved the taste! I have since made it with lemon jello in the cake, and lemon juice in the icing. It makes a great tasting lemon cake as well. I've made it in round layers as well as in a 10" x 14" rectangular pan. Works great either way. It is a refreshing summer cake recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2010
This is always a hit when I make it. I've also made this cake using Orange Cake Mix and Orange Flavored gelatin I use two 3 oz. jello's though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle
Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Living In: Brunswick, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
I made this a few years ago and took to a family reunion. Was a huge hit. I am now required to bring this to all subsequent family reunions. My adult kids love to watch and keep track of how fast it disappears. Just left a reunion today and my dad informed me that I would have to bring 2 next year. The only thing I do different is add lime zest to the cake and the frosting. I have used both key limes and regular limes. Can't tell the difference. Thanks for sharing this recipe and my family thanks you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
This is Fabulous! I just double the frosting because my family are frosting freaks! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2010
This is the best cake. Really moist and delicious. Best served at room temp, but needs to be refrigerated. Very easy to make. Have made this recipe 2 times already will be making it again tonight for someone's birthday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 197) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Key Lime Pie VII

Use fresh key lime juice if you can, as it adds the biggest flavor.

Easy Key Lime Pie I

See how to make a quick-and-easy, award-winning key lime pie.

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States