Key Lime Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: May 29, 2010
I made this cake for Mothers' Day 2010. My mom loves citrus flavors and I was initially seeking a lemon recipe but ran into this. I substituted lemon pudding for the orange juice. The cake was SUPER moist; peopole had NO idea that it was NOT made from scratch. I made the cream cheese icing and added key lime zest to it as well as to the cake batter. It was awesome and so good that I only got ONE piece of the cake myself. I did make it in layers but for the Memorial Day party this weekend I am going to do it in a sheet cake form. The key to it is using true Key West lime juice and lime like I did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2010
I made this cake for a dinner at work and everyone loved it. So they asked me to make it again. This time I cut the oil to about 2/3 and the rest water and didn't add the butter to the icing. It was still awsome. Thanks for the recipe its a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2010
Baked this cake last week for my granddaughter's 6th birthday. Everyone loved it! My kind of recipe, simple and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jerimax
Reviewed: May 11, 2010
i just tested these to see if i would include this recipe for my daughter's 7th birthday party at the end of may. the flavors are definitely the perfect mix of sweet and sour to create the ultimate key lime pie cupcake. (and they are super simple to make!!!) i followed the recipe by the book (even though i thought twice about all the oil) and they turned out awesome. i would watch at the end to keep them from getting too brown, but all in all, these cupcakes have made the cut! i am making 2 dozen keylime and 2 dozen strawberry cupcakes to create an awesome variety of flavors that compliment each other really nicely. thanks so much for the recipe! it is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jerimax

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
We absolutly loved this cake, it was sonderful and very moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Alvin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
Such a great cake - got very good reviews/feedback from it! I did add more lime to the actual cake mix, to make it even more tart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsCabes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
I baked this cake on yesterday and it was so simple the only thing that i changed was the confectioners sugar i cut it down by 1 cup and when finished i added chopped walnuts to the finished cake. So good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: East Point, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
This recipe is delicious. My family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2010
Excellent cake! Very moist and delicious, always get compliments and requests to make one for special occasions. This is a keeper in my recipe collection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ClassyToya

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
My niece asked me to make a key lime cake for her husband's birthday. I checked Allrecipes, read all the reviews and picked this one. They call it the Shrek cake. It didn't last a full day. They loved it! I did put some toasted, chopped pecans in the icing. So good - already planning to have another one Easter. Thanks for this terrific recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Galbert

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dalton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 186) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Key Lime Pie VII

Use fresh key lime juice if you can, as it adds the biggest flavor.

Easy Key Lime Pie I

See how to make a quick-and-easy, award-winning key lime pie.

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States