Key Lime Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
Made this as cupcakes and they were fantastic! I had been craving lime cupcakes, and these really hit the spot. The only change I made was to use key lime juice in the batter instead of orange juice. The cake doesn't rise very much though, so to get the cupcakes to look right I had to fill the cups up to almost the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monica

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Photo by Tracy Ann
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
This cake is pretty and has plenty of lime flavor for anyone who is a real fan of limes and lime flavored desserts. A great change of pace....Update; I didn't have any orange juice, so I used a 6 oz. can of pineapple juice. Then I topped it with whipped cream frosting sprinkled with coconut. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy Ann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2010
i made this cake yesterday for my best friend's birthday-key lime pie being her favorite. after reading other reviews, i made the following changes: used 1/2 c. oil and 1/2 c. applesause (stayed with 4 eggs), only used 1/2 of the lime jell-o mix to cut down a bit on the sweetness, added the zest of 2 limes to the batter and used lemonade instead of orange juice. for the icing, i used the recommended amount of butter and cream cheese, added the zest of a lime and added about 2 tablespoons of the the lime jell-o mix. i had PLENTY of frosting (i only made 2 layers) and even had some left over. it baked in about 25 minutes and t came out wonderfully moist and delicious! definitely a hit-thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
AWESOM cake, super moist! Everyone loved this cake, it was gone in no time, will def be saving this to my files and making any chance I get!! I would probably add a little more powdered sugar next time to thicken the icing though....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ThursdayRecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by princeslani
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
YUM! cant wait to make these again! the frosting was a little runny though. i will remember to thicken it up a little next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by princeslani

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
Well i ran out of orange juice, so i used lemonade instead, which turned out great! The only problem that i see with this recipe, is that it didn't rise as much as i thought it would. So if you're making cupcakes, make sure to fill the cups nearly all the way full. If you only fill them about two thirds full, they wont rise much higher than the top of the paper baking cups. Oh, and this recipe makes A LOT of cupcakes, count on about 2 1/2 dozen or so. great for parties :]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
This cake is absolutely delicious! I made it in 2 layers because sometimes the 3 layer cakes, to me, lose a lot of the cake taste to mostly the icing. That being said, the icing was super rich so I would recommend only using the amount the recipe calls for. Don't double! I made this for a 4th of July cookout and it was the hit! People who normally don't have seconds had seconds. Its been requested again so I thought I'd do it justice and leave a review. TRY THIS CAKE :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
The flavor of this cake is great, but I don't think the liquid measurements are correct. 1 1/3 c. oil and 4 eggs makes the batter very thin. My cakes fell apart as I tried to frost them and I had to make it as a trifle. Also, the frosting should be doubled if you hope to cover the whole cake. Like, I said, the flavor is great, but I would definitely lower the amount of oil and/or eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
Just needs more lime flavor & I'd review higher. Boxed cake is boxed cake though so don't hold your expectations too high. The frosting was TERRIFIC as you can lime it up to your liking w/ the juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommymeggy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
This was the best cake I ever made. It was very moist. I gave my family a piece of it and they were all begging for more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cassandra

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milledgeville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 192) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Key Lime Pie VII

Use fresh key lime juice if you can, as it adds the biggest flavor.

Easy Key Lime Pie I

See how to make a quick-and-easy, award-winning key lime pie.

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States