Key Lime Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2005
This was a pretty good recipe. I did make a few changes though. The first time I made it I made it exactly how the recipe said and it had too much of a lemon tast not enough key lime. The second time I used a white cake mix instead and added 2 more tablespoons of key lime juice and 3 drops of green food coloring. It turned out much better. Overall a good recipe though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
153 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelley M.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2006
A few little changes really add some zing to the already good recipe. First, I add chopped pecans. Second, my glaze consists of 1/2 stick butter, 1/2 cup sugar and 1/4 cup fresh key lime juice boiled for 4-5 minutes, then drizzled over cake. Let cake sit overnight before serving. One of my favorite recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
127 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
For the most part I really like citrus cakes made with cake mixes, but there are always a couple of challenges. One is to disguise that tell-tale cake mix taste. The other is to get the cake to live up to its name with a robust citrus flavor. Because of some experience with this I took a little liberty with this recipe which does have a good starting point, particularly since it doesn't call for Jell-o! If this is a lime cake I thought it counterproductive to use a lemon cake mix and lemon pudding - I used vanilla for both. I added 1 tsp. of vanilla, a tsp. of lime extract and, for good measure, a tablespoon of grated lime zest! For the liquid I upped the lime juice to a half cup, used only a half cup of water and called it a day. As for the glaze, I kept it thick, adding only enough lime juice to get it to approximately the consistency of Elmer's glue. I also added a good amount of grated lime zest. It turned out to be a lovely, "graceful" cake, if there is such a thing. Light, fluffy, with a delicate lime taste, spiked with the zestier lime glaze. I'm very pleased with this but if I make it again I may add even more lime juice, zest and extract!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
105 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2005
Everybody LOVED this cake and I was asked for the recipe several times. I made it in a bundt pan but PLEASE NOTE: Spray an ample amount of cooking spray into the pan because it did stick and I had to 'glue' some of the top back on with the glaze. Also, I drizzled half of the glaze on when it was warm, which sunk into the cake and made it very moist; however, I waited to apply the other half until it was cool so that it would have a visible glazed look - really great and simple recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Celeste
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2007
This cake is moist and nice and tart. Everyone thinks it is store bought and it is always the first to go at any function. UPDATE: I only use 1 C. powdered sugar and 2 Tbsp. of key lime juice for the glaze, and I let the cake cool completely before putting it on. I have made this cake several times. The picture is of the cake my husband made for me on my b-day. He was very proud of it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Celeste

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Helena, California, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2006
I made this into a lemon cake. Used vanilla pudding because it was all I had and used lemon juice where it called for key-lime. Same with the icing. Best lemon pound cake I've tasted in quite some time. Although the icing dripped on is great, this would be equally good just dusted with confectioner's sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LillysMom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2005
Wonderful!! this got lots of rave reviews at a potluck. I used a little more lime in the cake and icing to make it more tart. I also put half the icing on while warm and the other half when cold. This made it look great! Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2003
This cake is a big hit in my family! I have made it twice, the 2nd time I used a stick of butter (melted) instead of the oil, butter-recipe yellow cake mix, and added a 1/2 stick of butter to the glaze, so it soaked in a bit. (I like butter!) YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2004
This cake is just delicious and so very moist. I've made it twice now and everyone just loves it. And so simple to make. Wish I could give it more than five stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2002
I went to make this and realized I did not have any lemon pudding mix...I used a lemon cake and vanilla pudding along with the Key Lime juice. Turned out just fine. My son (5) and my boyfriend thought this was awesome. I made it in a bundt pan, and it is such a lovely yellow color! I did, however, not use even half of the glaze..next time I will use only about 1/2 - 3/4 cup of powdered sugar, and just enough juice to make it the right consistancy. Definitely a keeper recipe, though. Moist and yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alliance, Ohio, USA
Living In: West Chester, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 146) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Key Lime Pie VII

Use fresh key lime juice if you can, as it adds the biggest flavor.

Easy Key Lime Pie I

See how to make a quick-and-easy, award-winning key lime pie.

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States