Key Lime Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2009
Really good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamden, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Providence, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2009
This cake had a really nice spongy texture. I would have used a little more key lime juice to make it a little more limy but I also love the citrus flavor. This would be a nice summer cake recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChickenWing

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
I loved this cake. I usesd a golden vanilla cake mix, 2.5 tablespoons more of the key lime juice and left the icicng as is. Very fresh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AJRobinson71

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Pedro, California, USA
Living In: Apple Valley, California, USA
Photo by Kat Ashley
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
This recipe is super yummy! I made a few tweaks though for personal preference... I added one more teaspoon of key lime juice to the cake mixture to increase the tart lime flavor. I also increased the glaze from 1.5 cups to 2.5 and poked some holes in the cake so the glaze would sink into the cake while still warm. Other than that I followed the recipe. Make this cake! You won't be dissapointed. : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kat Ashley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
This was very tasty. I brought it to work for a potluck and it seemed to go over well. The glaze is the best part because it's super tangy! Will be making this for Easter buffet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by floridatreasure1983
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
the tropics come for a visit when u serve this cake!! what a delight!! tangy, tasty, delish!!! i made one change, i added 2 additional tblspns of lime juice in the cake mix after tasting the batter just because i wanted a more outstanding lime taste! i glazed the cake entirely when warm and there was still a visable icing and wow was it tangy and tasty!! would be outstanding with ice cream!!! coconut would be exciting as an ice cream to drive home the tropical taste sensation!! we also did some cupcakes with a white chocolate cream cheese icing which was to die for!!! definately will revisit this one!! i almost for got but added a few drops of green food color for eye appeal!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by floridatreasure1983

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Port Saint Lucie, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Traci-in-Cali
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
This cake was so good that I had to give it 5 stars even though some of the directions left me wondering... It didn't specify how long to mix or how long to cool before removing from the pan.. Since it said pour glaze over warm, I tried removing my cake from my bunt pan and my cake fell apart!.. Next time I'll wait until almost cooled. Very good though, I added a couple drops of green food coloring. I loved it!..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci-in-Cali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
Great cake! Didn't have any key lime juice so I used all lemon juice. It is awesome. Can't wait to try this with the key lime juice. I cooked it in a 9x13 pan in 35 minutes. Also, I added lemon juice to the confectioner's sugar until I got the consistency right. Thanks, will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
great recipe i took it for thanksgiving and got rave reviews. i did add a little more lime but still excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2008
im trying to make little mini bundt cakes with this recipe using a mini bundt cake pan. I overcooked them slightly at 20 minutes. I also added 7 drops of green food coloring. I may only use 5 next time. I also added a drop to the icing, but it ended up st. patrick's green, haha. I wish I knew how to make the icing stick to the top rather than soak in. I tried thicker icing and letting the cakes cool a bit this time, but it still set in. I'm going to try this a few times more till I get it right. Mini bundt cakes are so cute, especially key lime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Georgia, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 146) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Key Lime Pie VII

Use fresh key lime juice if you can, as it adds the biggest flavor.

Easy Key Lime Pie I

See how to make a quick-and-easy, award-winning key lime pie.

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States