Key Lime Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2009
Great flavor. I accidently added a box of cheesecake flavored jello instead of lemon so it was a bit more on the mild side regarding the citrus flavor. Next time I will be sure to grab the correct package. The glaze was extremely flavorful and went well with the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Muffin Mom N Garlic Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palmerton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Melbourne, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2009
Fan-friggin-tastic! Made it for my boyfriend's birthday party and non-cake eaters were taking seconds and thirds - and doggy bags. I took others' advice in using WHITE CAKE MIX and using 2 extra Tbsp of lime juice to the batter. The glaze is excellent (but you might not need all of it)! It baked about 40 minutes in a 9x13 in an electric oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaLizGa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten, Netherlands Antilles

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2009
This cake was a huge hit with the family as a birthday cake! I used Patty W's recipe for a sauce over the cake while it was still hot. 1/2 cup sugar, 1/2 stick butter and 1/4 cup fresh key lime juice, simmered for 4 to 5 minutes. Then I used the glaze recommended with the recipe to top the cake once it was cool. This resulted in an extremely lime-ish and moist cake. I will say that I think the actual juice from key limes makes all the difference but it takes quite a few to get that much juice. I used a whole bag, and it contained at least 15 key limes. I will be making this again, thanks for sharing the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LACMOORE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Roanoke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kenan
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2009
I would give this recipe 5 stars, however I did deviate from the recipe. I used just a yellow cake mix and used as much key lime juice as I thought was needed. My husband loved it, so its a keeper. I used icing color to make it green for fun times. Thanks for the inspiration.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kenan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2009
I really liked the cake but it was more lemony than key lime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2009
I really liked this cake. It did not have alot of lime flavor so I kept pouring it into the mix. I baked it for a "Bake Off" at work and won first place. I baked it into ice cream cones and iced it with vanilla icing. Great suprise to bite into what looks like an ice cream and hen get a nice fruity tropical cake! I am suposed to make it again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CarmWil05

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Landover, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2009
Very good recipe. I couldn't find any "key lime juice" so I used regular lime juice, is there much of a difference? Would make this again. Thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ozone Park, New York, USA
Living In: Milford, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 28, 2009
This is an easy recipe to follow. It has a very nice flavor. I would add more key lime juice to the cake mixture. I am anxious to try this recipe with apple sauce vs oil as noted by another reviewer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2009
This cake is delicious....but I didn't like the glaze / icing. Just makes the cake too boring. I rather see this cake frosted with a light, white, fluffy frosting. Also - my grocery store was out of Key Lime juice in a bottle, so I had to HAND-SQUEEZE the 8 Tbsp....and that TOOK A LONG TIME!!! Don't recommended doing that, but the Key Lime flavor was very good at least!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairport, New York, USA
Living In: Cheshire, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cookiemonstar
Reviewed: May 13, 2009
I liked this a lot. My bf raved about this cake and said it tasted just like the one at his favorite bbq joint. I probably wouldn't recommend this to anti boxed cakers... but if you don't mind them then try this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookiemonstar
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 148) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Key Lime Pie VII

Use fresh key lime juice if you can, as it adds the biggest flavor.

Easy Key Lime Pie I

See how to make a quick-and-easy, award-winning key lime pie.

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States